Selected Databases
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada.
- Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI)An index of articles in scholarly journals covering political, economic, and social issues in Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and realting to Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)An index of scholarship in Latin American Studies. It includes records for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and electronic resources.
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalDatabase of dissertations and theses from institutions around the world, including records for international dissertations beginning in 1637 and U.S. dissertations beginning in 1861 (the year the first doctoral dissertation was accepted at a U.S. institution).
- SciELO.org -Scientific Electronic Library Online"Provides Open Access (OA) to journals’ contents. Journals are organized in national and thematic collections. Each collection is managed by a nationally recognized research organization."
- Redalyc.orgStarted as the Network of Scientific Journals from Latin America and the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal but now including open access journals across the globe.
- Latin American NewspapersA collection of historical newspapers from North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Anthropology PlusFields covered include social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, archaeology, art history, ethnology, folklore, material culture, religion, and more.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
- ArtstorA digital image library of millions of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences from numerous museums, academic institutions, and private foundations.
Selected Books
- Cambridge HistoriesSubject matter ranges widely across the humanities and social sciences, with concentrations in political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts. Includes titles such as the 11 volume The Cambridge History of Latin America, the 8 volume The Cambridge History of Africa, and the 2 volume The Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature.
- Early Brazil: a documentary collection to 1700 byPublication Date: 2010
- A history of postcolonial Lusophone Africa byPublication Date: 2002
- Sure Road? Nationalisms in Angola, Guinea-Bissau and Mozambique byPublication Date: 2012
- Portuguese Decolonization in the Indian Ocean World: History and Ethnography byPublication Date: 2018
Call Number Ranges for Lusophone History
Portugal: DP501 - DP802
Brazil: F2501 - F2659
Angola: DT1251 - DT1465
Cape Verde: DT671.C2
East Timor: DS646.5 - DS646.59
Equatorial Guinea: DT620 - DT620.9
Guinea-Bissau: DT613 - DT613.9
Mozambique: DT3291 - DT3415
Sao Tome & Principe: DT615 - DT615.9