Plant Physiology (216:330): Research Skills

WHAT IS CRITICAL THINKING?

Critical thinking is the ability to question, interpret, evaluate, and analyze information, while contextualizing and synthesizing it with deep understanding using logical and rational thinking. It is human-centered thinking. It is important to note that critical thinking is more important than ever now in the age of AI.

WHY IS CRITICAL THINKING IMPORTANT IN THE AGE OF AI?

• Critical thinking can ensure we use AI technologies responsibly, ethically, and effectively.

HOW TO USE CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS WHEN USING AI FOR RESEARCH ASSISTANCE

• Always fact-check and verify AI Output (Accuracy and Specificity)
• What is the source of the information provided?
• Could there be anything missing from the summary provided?
• Can I find corroborating information from direct searches in academic databases?
• Always conduct a source evaluation and citation verification. (Reliability and Authority)
• If source links are provided, do they link to the stated articles?
• Are the authors' and journal names legitimate? (Be sure to prioritize searching for the original research paper using library databases or Google Scholar to verify it is an actual source.)
• Does the content of the cited paper actually support the claims made by the AI output?
• Could the information be biased? (Completeness and Perspective)
• Is there a dominant viewpoint in the AI's answer?
• Does it acknowledge conflicting findings or ongoing debates in the field?
• Could it be missing recent, cutting-edge research if its training data is not up-to-the-minute? Do literature searches in academic databases to be sure.
• Can you identify any gaps or ask deeper questions? (Further Research)
• AI output sometimes provides a good starting point or direction, but further refined questions and added context can help produce better results. Do NOT use AI output as a final product or creator of information. 
• Develop your human-centered critical thinking skills whenever interacting with generative AI output.

Some Rutgers University Libraries databases and e-resources are introducing generative AI tools built into their platforms that provide new ways to search and evaluate information. For a complete list, see the Generative AI Features in Major Databases & Platforms Guide.

Two of the databases suggested for researching in Plant Physiology - ProQuest One Sustainability and GreenFile (EBSCOHost) have integrated AI assistants. 

PROQUEST ONE SUSTAINABILITY AI RESEARCH ASSISTANT

Searching Assistance: Suggests related terms after you've run a search that you may add to your search to narrow your results. This is helpful when in the "Planning Your Search Strategy" phase of the research process. These terms will appear in a row below the search bar.

Reviewing Content and Brainstorming Related Research Topics: When you are viewing a full-text article or dissertation, the Research Assistant displays in a sidebar on the rights side of the screen where you can choose from prompts to display Key Takeaways, Important Concepts, Essential Details, Findings & Conclusions, and Related Research Topics.

EBSCOHOST GREENFILE AI INSIGHTS

Natural Language Search Option: A toggle switch located below the search boxes, under the tab "Search Options" allows you to turn on "Natural Language Search". This will allow you to search using an entire question - however, it is still best practice to have a focused research question and a search strategy using alternate keywords to effectively find relevant information.

Image Source: AiPPT. (2025). Gamma. https://gamma.app. 

AI Has a Hidden Water Cost - Here's How to Calculate Yours by Leo S. Lo