Subject Guide
Select Databases
- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System [CCRIS] Carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition data provided by the National Cancer Institute (NCI).
- PDQ® - NCI's Comprehensive Cancer Database PDQ (Physician Data Query) is NCI's comprehensive cancer database. It contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, and supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine; a registry of approximately 2,000 open and 13,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, professionals who provide genetics services, and organizations that provide cancer care.
- Oncology by OncologyStat - integrates a multitude of authoritative professional cancer information sources, such as peer-reviewed research, news and regulatory updates, a professional drug monograph and interactions database, chemotherapy regimens, and conference coverage into one easy-to-use online destination. Information and educational materials are delivered across multiple media formats: text, audio, video, interactive, user-generated forums, etc. Community oncologists and cancer-care practitioners in private practice or a non-institutional setting will find OncologySTAT especially useful in gaining immediate integrated access to the latest evidence-based research, news, treatment, and decision support information.
- Cochrane Library from Wiley - Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
- Essential Evidence Plus - point of care tool designed to offer "Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters". Also includes access to 6 EBM databases, calculators, guidelines and quick reference tools.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of the biomedical literature. Includes some full-text.
- PubMed (NLM) PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Electronic Books
Patient Information
- American Cancer Society - Here you'll find medical information, treatment decision tools, news updates, and support resources. You can also read about survivors' experiences, find hope, and inspire others.
- National Cancer Institute - provides a wealth of information on cancer topics, definitions, treatment and research.
- HeathyNJ - Healthcare information for New Jersey consumers, policy makers, and health care professionals
- First Consult -includes printable, customizable Patient Education handouts for more than 300 conditions. Includes Spanish language handouts.
- MDConsult - provides searchable, full-text access to over 50 of the world's most important medical journals, a collection of over 40 reference books, more than 1000 clinical practice guidelines, and almost 3,500 customizable patient education handouts. It also includes full-text drug information.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center - A collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, definitions, and directories. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Includes some full-text.
PDA Resources
- Cancer Prediction Tools from Memorial Sloan-Kettering - The breast, lung, prostate, and sarcoma prediction tools are available in both an easy-to-use online version, as well as downloadable Palm (including Treo 600), Pocket PC, and Macromedia Flash programs. The gastric cancer, pancreatic cancer, and renal cell carcinoma prediction tools are available in Palm or Pocket PC versions only.
- C-Tools 2.5 from the American Cancer Society is a timesaving PDA tool that will provide you with instant access to the most recent cancer information, and it’s available free of charge to anyone in the health care field.
- DynaMed - A "Just-In-Time" Internet reference integrating evidence based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 1,800 clinical topics.
- Essential Evidence Plus - point of care tool designed to offer "Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters". Also includes access to 6 EBM databases, calculators, guidelines and quick reference tools.
- PDA Toolkit
- Emedicine - extensive collection of professional specialty reviews and consumer interest collection,as well as medical calculator.
- ePocrates - suite of popular diagnostic, drug and treatment tools for PDAs as well as web-based access.
- hanheldmed.com - applications include patient tracking and standard medical texts designed for use with PDAs
University Resources
- Cancer Institute of New Jersey - one of only 39 National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated Comprehensive Cancer Centers in the nation – the only one in New Jersey.
- New Jersey Medical School University Hospital Cancer Center
- New Jersey Cancer Trial Connect - NJCTC matches the cancer treatment trials in our state with your medical profile. You can search for studies of interest to you and your family or others you may know.
Professional Societies
- ACRIN
American College of Radiology Imaging Network