Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Financing Your Business: Venture Capital

Print Resources

The most comprehensive directory of venture capital firms is the annual Pratt's Guide to Private Equity and Venture Capital Sources.
DANA, CARR REF HG 64 .P73

Other titles include:

Directory Of Venture Capital and Private Equity Firms: Domestic & International. Grey House, 2006.
CARR REF HG 4751 .D57

Venture Capital and Private Equity Funds for Development. KIT Publishers, 2005.
ALEXANDER REF HG 4751 .V4627

Web Resources

PrivCo is an excellent resource for business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. The database currently includes profiles for over 900,000 companies, 20,000 private equity and venture capital firms and investors, and 100,000 private market deals. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Formerly Angelsoft, Gust "provides the global platform for the sourcing and management of early-stage investments" and includes the world's leading business angel and venture capital associations as partners.

The Angel Capital Association maintains a Member Directory of angel groups and platforms.

CBInsights offers a "funding recommendation engine" to identify investors and funding sources for your business.

One good resource to explore is the Venture Capital Database from Chrysalis Ventures.

Venture Capital Links from The Capital Connection provides links to dozens of venture capital firms, as well as to several free services.

Entrepreneur.com has picked the Top 100 Venture Capital Firms.

Some local venture capital firms and angel investor groups are listed on the New Jersey Entrepreneurial Tech Ecosystem of the American Entrepreneurship Today site.

For a daily feed of changes in the portfolio of more than 150 venture capital firms, look at VC Portfolio Page Changes from Neu Venture Capital. There's also WhoGotFunded.com to tell you who just raised funds and from whom.

Venture capital investors and firms are rated by entrepreneurs on TheFunded.com.

The Private Equity Directory is only available for purchase as a spreadsheet.

You can see differences in the race, age, and experience of the founders of companies that were funded in this Venture Capital Human Capital Report from CB Insights. [Updated summary: A Data-Driven Look at Diversity in Venture Capital and Startups ]

More generally, you can find out which regions and what industries have received investor interest, in the quarterly PriceWaterhouseCoopers Money Tree Survey of the venture capital community.

Another source of aggregated VC financing data is Cooley's Trends, a summary of their quarterly Venture Financing Report.

Finally, consider the advice provided by Marty Zwilling: 8 Insights For Startups To Attract Angel Investors.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.