Mastering the Liberal Arts 1
Meet Your Librarian!
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
Mastering the Liberal Arts 1
This guide is intended to help you identify sources for Mastering the Liberal Arts I. You will find links to library databases where you can find scholarly articles, directions for finding and requesting books if you need to, and resources related to citing your sources in MLA format.
Introduction to Rutgers University Libraries
Finding Articles
The databases linked below are excellent places for you to search for peer-reviewed/scholarly articles.
In addition to these databases, Rutgers University Libraries provides QuickSearch, a single search portal designed to make finding sources easier.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliographyindexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- JSTORJSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals in many disciplines, including literature, history, African American Studies, and more.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
- America: History and LifeThe America: History and Life database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Finding Books
While this assignment primarily requires finding and citing scholarly articles, you may also need to consult books. Below you will find some examples of books owned by Rutgers University Libraries that might be relevant to the work you are doing in this course.
Hold your cursor over the book title for more information.
Book Delivery to Brookdale
Books owned by any Rutgers University library can be sent to Brookdale Community College for you to use. When you locate a book you would like to have sent to you, you will need to log in using your Rutgers netID and password, click on the "Request Pickup" button, and select "Brookdale Community College-Lincroft" as your pickup location.
For help requesting a book, call the Paul Robeson Library circulation desk at 856-225-2848.