Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Kinesiology: Indexes & Databases

Resources related to Kinesiology

About

Indexes and databases are great places to begin locating articles and other electronic resources relevant to your topic or area of interest. On this page, you will find a list of databases relevant to varioues areas of kinesiology. They are organized into four groups: Multidisciplinary Databases; General Health & Medical Databases; Cilnical & Diagnostic Databases; and Visualizations.

For a full list of all of the Rutgers University Libraries databases, please visit the Indexes and Databases page.

General Health & Medical Databases

CINAHL provides comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature.

Focusing on high quality evidence to support health care providers in their clinical decision making, the Cochrane Library includes 6 databases which may be searched as a group or individually. The primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, includes more than 4,650 reviews and 2,015 protocols which have been prepared by a highly credentialed group to determine if an intervention for a specific disease or other problem is effective. The other databases include Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, a database of quality assessments and review summaries not conducted by Cochrane, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the world's largest directory of random controlled trials with journal article citations in the entries, Cochrane Methodology Register, a bibliography of books and journal articles where researchers have reported on the methods used in random clinical trials, Health Technology Assessment Database, a collection of assessment studies of medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database, which identifies information about cost-effectiveness of interventions.

Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

ScienceDirect, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

Sports Medicine & Education Index indexes a wide variety of content from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, and trade magazines in topics ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.

Visualizations

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Google Scholar searches across a wide range of scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, conference papers, and technical reports. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, and other scholarly websites.

Scopus contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage strongest in the physical and health sciences, followed by the life sciences, and finally the social sciences & humanities.

Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Journals covered in Web of Science are chosen for their credibility, influence, and relevancy. Coverage is strongest in the sciences (more than 8000 journals), followed by social sciences (almost 3000 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1600 journals). 

Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that includes full-text journal articles and some full-text reference sources. The database also includes abstracts of additional journal articles and reference sources, summary information for online books, citations to Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and abstracts of databases. Subjects covered include: business; chemistry; computer science; earth and environmental science; education; engineering; law; life sciences; mathematics and statistics; medicine and healthcare; physics and astronomy; polymers and materials science; psychology; and social sciences.

Clinical & Diagnostic Databases

DynaMed is a clinical reference tool integrating evidence-based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics. It includes clinical decision rules, practice guidelines, calculators, and links to full-text articles indexed by the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) PubMed.

Natural Medicines contains over 1,000 evidence-based monographs on natural medicines. Compiled by clinicians, these monographs provide in depth information for each natural medicine product. This information, appropriate for patient care situations, includes: common, as well as colloquial names, brand names, scientific names, product uses, safety, effectiveness, description of known constituents, pharmacological actions, adverse reactions, possible interactions, any influence on nutrient levels and depletion in the body after use of the substance(s), dosage and administration, and reference citations. Also available in this database is a clinical management series on topics such as: obesity, depression, colds and flu, osteoporosis, menopause, chronic fatigue syndrome and others.

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 26,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

REHABDATA is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

UpToDate is a point-of-care information resource which contains over 10,000 clinical topics representing 25 specialties.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.