Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Criminal Justice - Issues in Contemporary Policing: GETTING STARTED

Professor Robert T. Szejner

Planning your Search

What is your research about?

Which words would best capture your topic?

Here is an example about how you may want to plan your search.

To learn more about organizing your search and using Boolean operators, view the presentation here

Key RU Libraries Links

QuickSearch : search the entire library's catalog

WorldCat : another catalog to search and view resources available outside of Rutgers

Find Articles : search for articles related to your research topic

Indexes and Databases: to narrow down the scope of your results, select a database for a more focused search process

Learning Tools: view tutorials on using Quicksearch, organizing your search, citing resources and more!

Library Floor Maps

Research @ RUL

Background Information

Don't know where to start?      

Knowledge is of two kinds: we know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information upon it. -- Samuel Johnson (1709 - 1784)

For an introduction to concepts and ideas for research topics, the following electronic reference sources can be useful.

 

CQ Researcher Online   

Full-text weekly topical reports.  Focuses on topics considered newsworthy or issues of broad interest to the general public.  This is a good source for overviews of current topics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library   

Includes topical overviews; essays; book chapters; primary documents; specialized encyclopedia articles, and other sources.  This is a good source for background information, overviews, references, terms, and ideas for topics.

Sage Knowledge

Includes specialized encyclopedia articles written by experts in the respective topical areas. This is a good source for background information, overviews, references, terms, and ideas for topics.

About Me

Profile Photo
Triveni Kuchi
Contact:
Librarian for Sociology, Criminal Justice, Cinema, South Asian, and Middle Eastern Studies
New Brunswick Libraries,
Rutgers University - New Brunswick,
Carr Library, 75 Avenue E, Piscataway, NJ-08854
848-445-5733
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.