Meet Your Librarian!
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
COVID-19 Information
The Robeson Library is currently open for access to the student computer lab and study spaces on the first and second floors. The circulation and reference desks remain closed. Physical collections are accessible via Click and Collect, our version of curbside pickup. Online collections and services remain available 24/7.
Contact zara.wilkinson@rutgers.edu for help using the library or finding resources for your assignments.
Intro to English Studies
This guide is intended as a starting point for research in English literature and associated fields. On this page, you will find information about finding books and articles using the Paul Robeson Library.
Finding Articles
Here are some databases that you might consult for this course: These are just a few of the many databases offered by the library system at Rutgers; you can consult the complete list for other options.
You can also use QuickSearch to search for articles. QuickSearch is a single search portal that can making finding sources easier, but it is not exhaustive and sometimes you will need to consult subject-specific databases in order to find the best articles for your topic.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions that offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliographyindexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- JSTORJSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals in many disciplines, including literature, history, African American Studies, and more.
- Film & Television Literature Indexilm & Television Literature Index (FTLI) is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering all types of writing, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals on topics for film and television.
- Project MuseProject Muse ® provides full-text access to more than 320 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities; social sciences; and mathematics. Fields covered include literature and criticism; history; the visual and performing arts; cultural studies; education; political science; gender studies; economics; and many others.
- Literature Online (LION)Searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language as well as literary criticism.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete combines two earlier databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. coverage for many more.
- American Film Institute CatalogThe AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. It includes information about every major American film produced from 1893 to 1993 and selected films produced from 1994 to 2015. Its scope is films produced on American soil or by American production companies.
Finding Books
QuickSearch is the best place to start your search for either books or articles. You can limit your results to just books by clicking on "Books" (under "Resource Type."
Below you will find a video that walks you through how to use QuickSearch to find a book on a specific topic.
While the library's print collection is available to you through Click and Collect (for pickup at the Robeson Library or for delivery by mail), you may find it most convenient to search for electronic books. Once you have done a search in QuickSearch, you can use the gray bar on the left side of the screen to limit your results to electronic books that are available online 24/7. To do this, you will want to select "Available Online" under "Limit To."