Health Literacy

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups. Information is specific to groups in the Seattle area, but much of the cultural and health information is of interest and applicable in other geographic areas. EthnoMed is a joint program of the University of Washington Health Sciences Libraries and Harborview Medical Center's Interpreter Services Department/Community House Calls Program (ISD/CHC). EthnoMed is directed by clinical faculty in the Department of General Internal Medicine's Refugee and Immigrant Health Promotion Program at Harborview, and maintains roots in the Pediatrics Department and strong connections in the International Medicine Clinic. The EthnoMed team works with caseworker cultural mediators, medical interpreters, health care providers and ethnic community leaders who serve as authors and advisers of the web content.

PubMed, available via the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez life sciences retrieval system, was developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the U.S. National Institutues of Health (NIH). Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for services including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others.

Many people have trouble understanding information about their health. About 9 out of 10 American adults have some problems with health literacy. Health literacy is the ability to get the health information you need, and to understand it. It is also about using the information to make good decisions about your health and medical care. Low health literacy can harm your health. It can affect your ability to Limited health literacy can affect your ability to Fill out complex forms, Share personal information such as your health history, Get important screening tests, Take care of yourself, Manage a chronic disease
Understand how to take medicines

INAHL provides comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature. English language publications in nursing and allied health are indexed completely. In addition to journals, CINAHL includes citations for nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, health related books, educational software, and the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Journals in the related subjects of consumer health, alternate/complementary medicine, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship are indexed selectively. CINAHL offers cited reference searching from 1994 to the present.

PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO includes indexing for more than 2000 journals, 98% of which are peer-reviewed. Online access to Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is included.

PsycINFO is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. Full- text coverage of 58 journals from 1894 to the present.