Foundations in Medical Sciences
Foundations in Medical Sciences block courses Cells to Structure (C2S) and Principles of Pharmacology, Disease, & Defense (PPDD) cover fundamental basic science concepts needed by physicians to make diagnostic and therapeutic decisions for patients.
Associate Director and Coordinator of Medical Education
Victoria Wagner
Contact:
Robert Wood Johnson Library of the Health Sciences
Subjects: Medical Education
Evaluating Background Resources
What is background information?
When you need general information about a disease, condition, symptom, or disease process, you should ask background questions.
Examples: What causes migraines? What are the available treatments for type 2 diabetes?
Background information will provide you with basic information and is not appropriate for answering clinical questions about a specific patient.
Background questions are best answered by medical textbooks, book chapters, and narrative review articles.
Basic Sciences e-Book Collection
- Lippincott's Premium Basic Science CollectionAccess 60 current e-textbooks on core and fundamental medical science topics, including anatomy, microbiology, pathology, and physiology. Click on Texts to see entire library.
Resources for Locating Background Information
Locate background information online using library resources such as e-textbooks, evidence summaries, drug directories, guides to diagnostic tests, and review articles.
- AccessMedicineThis is an online collection of key medical textbooks and drug database.
- ClinicalKeyProvides access to e-textbooks, clinical practice guidelines, and FirstConsult reviews.
- DynamedThis clinical reference tool integrates evidence based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics.
- Essential Evidence PlusA database of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, this integrated search engine allows you to simultaneously search guidelines, topics, summaries.
- Medical Textbooks: e-booksSearch by title, subject, or collection to access Rutgers Libraries online, full text medical textbook collections.
- Up to DateA point-of-care information resource which contains over 10,000 clinical topics representing 25 specialties.
Tips for Writing Learning Objectives
- AAMC's Writing Learning ObjectivesProvides overview of Bloom's Taxonomy and an excellent list of verbs to help you articulate educational objectives.