Intro to English Studies (Fall 2020)
Meet Your Librarian!
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
COVID-19 Information
The Robeson Library is currently open for access to the student computer lab and study spaces on the first and second floors. The circulation and reference desks remain closed. Physical collections are accessible via Click and Collect, our version of curbside pickup. Online collections and services remain available 24/7.
Contact zara.wilkinson@rutgers.edu for help using the library or finding resources for your assignments.
Finding Articles
QuickSearch is a single search portal that can making finding sources easier, but it is not exhaustive and sometimes you will need to consult subject-specific databases in order to find the best articles for your topic.
Here are some subject-specific databases that you might consult in addition to QuickSearch:
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions, offering information in nearly every area of academic study
- America: History and LifeThe America: History and Life database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
- JSTORJSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals in many disciplines, including literature, history, African American Studies, and more.
- Literature Online (LION)Searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language as well as literary criticism.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliographyindexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
Finding Books
QuickSearch is the best place to start your search for books. You can limit your results to just books by clicking on "Books" (under "Resource Type."
Below you will find a video that walks you through how to use QuickSearch to find a book on a specific topic.
Requesting Books & Articles
If a book or article you need is not available at Rutgers, you can use the following services to request them from another library:
- EZ BorrowRequest books from partner libraries in this geographic region.
- UBorrowRequest books from partner libraries at Big Ten universities.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest articles that cannot be obtained through Rutgers or books that cannot be requested through Rutgers, EZBorrow, or UBorrow.
Image Gloss
Your image gloss assignment will require consulting encyclopedias and other resources. Below you will find links to Gale and SAGE, where you can search across many encyclopedias; a list of encyclopedias by subject; an online dictionary of literary symbolism (for symbols, objects, or motifs), and a resource called "American Eras" that provides information about many topics related to specific eras in American history.