Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A search interface that covers materials available from the Rutgers libraries. Includes the complete physical collections of the Rutgers Libraries and most, but not all, of its electronic resources.
Searches Rutgers libraries holdings but allows Boolean searches and provides facets limiting by format, date, language, etc. Strongly recommended for more effective searching.
Global catalog of library collections allowing researchers to identify materials beyond Rutgers collections.
New Jersey’s statewide catalog and interlibrary loan system. Search multiple online catalogs simultaneously and view the results in one list.
Subject terms for Catalog searching
- English Language Study and Teaching
- English Language Study and Teaching Bibliography
- English Language Study and Teaching China
- English Language Study and Teaching Chinese Speakers
- English Language Study and Teaching Dictionaries
- English Language Study and Teaching Chinese
- English Language Study and Teaching Foreign Speakers
- English Language Grammar
- English Language Composition and Exercises
- English Language Grammar Comparative Chinese
- English Language Grammar Handbooks, Manuals, Databases
- English Grammar Study and Teaching
Tips for finding e-books at the Libraries
Electronic books are listed in QuickSearch along with their more tangible print counterparts. To find electronic books (e-books) in QuickSearch:
- Enter your search term(s).
- Once you have a list of results, use the options at the left to narrow your search to e-books.
- Under "Resource Type" select Book.
- Under "Limit to" select Available Online
- Select any title from the results list to view the complete details for that item including the link for online access.
For general information on searching, visit the QuickSearch help page.
Selected Electronic Book Collections
Digital Public Library of America
A large collection of publicly accessible e-books--most from before 1922. Not a source for current scholarship but a good source for classic texts in literature, history, and many other fields.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Includes a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, covering a variety of subjects such as behavioral science, business, technology, science, literature and humanities as well as a comprehensive range of audience levels from basic introductory level texts to high level research materials.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A collaborative repository of millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching. -- Access to the resource is unrestricted, but Rutgers affiliates can log in to gain access to additional features such as full-text download and the ability to create permanent collections.
ProQuest Ebook Central
A subscription collection of scholarly books from a range of publishers, covering all disciplines. Titles will be added or removed on a regular basis. Chapters or books can be downloaded, using Adobe Digital Editions. See help pages for details.
Scholarly ebooks (also see how to search QuickSearch for ebooks). Please note that many of our unavailable print books are temporarily accessible via the HathiTrust (you will see links in QuickSearch for those).