Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) - NJMS
Databases for synthesized evidence: systematic review, meta-analysis and CATs
- ACP Journal ClubSummaries of the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals. Created by American College of Physicians.
- CINAHLFilter search with Publication Type systematic review or meta-analysis
- Cochrane LibraryThe primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), contains systemic reviews, protocols, editorials, and supplements.
- DynaMedSummaries of clinical topics with links to guidelines, evidence, drug information.
- Essential Evidence PlusClinical topic summaries and POEMS, Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters.
- JAMAevidenceIt contains textbooks, tools, and forms useful to the critical appraisal process.
- PubMedFilter your results by Article Type Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis
- TripFilter your results by Article Type Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis
- UpToDateClinical topic summaries, newest updates to practice, and drug information.
Databases for original studies: Clinical Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Case Reports
- EmbaseEmbase is a comprehensive biomedical literature database including articles, conference abstracts, in press articles and all of MEDLINE. Embase provides access to 8,100+ currently published journals from 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles and additional 2900 journals unique to Embase.
- CENTRAL: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled TrialsSearch for randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.
- CINAHLSearch for nursing, consumer health, alternative medicine, biomedicine research. Use Publication Type to limit to appropriate level of evidence.
- ClinicalTrials.govMaintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health, ClinicalTrials.gov provides current information about clinical research studies.
- PubMed Clinical QueriesSearch using pre-defined filters to locate clinical studies.
- Web of ScienceSearch complete bibliographic data including abstracts, references, and citations.
Databases for background information
- AccessMedicineMedical textbooks, drug information, streaming video on current medical and health sciences topics.
- ClinicalKeyFull text access to e-books and journal content, procedural videos, clinical calculators.
- Selected Health Sciences e-booksSearch by title, subject or publication date for the most current editions of Rutgers Libraries medical and health sciences e-textbooks.
- Evidence-Based Books listThis is a Quicksearch result of "Evidence Based" books.
- Selected EBM e-BooksThis is a selected list of EBM books from the Health Sciences e-books list.
A few sample EBM books
(Original) Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by ISBN: 0071790713Publication Date: 2014-12-30This book helps you learn how to read, understand, and interpret clinically-relevant research literature in order to practice EBM. This famous book comes in two versions: a a briefer one called “Essentials” and the original, more detailed one. This is the original version.
(Brief) Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: Essentials of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by ISBN: 9780071794152Publication Date: 2015-01-05This is the brief version. The streamlined companion to the classic Users' Guides to the Medical Literature--fully updated and revised This compact guide condenses the most clinically relevant content of the landmark Users' Guides to the Medical Literature to help you incorporate evidence-based medicine into your practice.
How to Read a Paper by ISBN: 9781118800966Publication Date: 2014-04-07An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice.
Evidence-based medicine : how to practice and teach EBM by ISBN: 9780702062971Publication Date: 2018It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practice and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations.
How to find EBM journals?
Go to Rutgers Libraries Webpage, click Journals on the top of any Quicksearch result page to find EBM journals.
Click Explore journals, then go to Medical Specialties A-N on the side navigation on BrowZine to find Evidence Based Medicine. Click Evidence Based Medicine to check all EBM journals. You can sort journals by A-Z or by SJR Journal Rank.