What Does That Mean?
- Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society
- Raymond Williams. 2nd edition. New York, Oxford University Press, 2015.
- "A collection of lively essays on words that are critical to understanding the modern world. In these essays, Williams, a renowned cultural critic, demonstrates how these key words take on new meanings and how these changes reflect the political bent and values of our past and current society." Rutgers-restricted Access
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED).
- The definitive English language dictionary on word origins and usage. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Language of Peace
- A tool to search provisions of Peace Agreements. Compare and collate language on key issues across 75,000+ provisions of around 1,000 peace agreements.
Basic Reference Works
- Encyclopedia of Political Theory
- "Examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times: the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought." Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopedia of Power
- "With comprehensive coverage of the use of power in the social sciences, the encyclopedia serves as a one-stop point of reference for the diverse and complex ways in which power has been used. It also provides a reference for debates central to the issues of power in different contexts and for related topics, showing how these disparate topics are related to power." Rutgers-restricted Access
- The Sage Encyclopedia of War: Social Science Perspectives
- Paul Joseph, editor. Thousand Oaks, California, Sage Publications, Inc., 2017.
- Entries on war from the view of the social sciences. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace & Conflict
- "Provides information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life. Covers topics such as arms control, peace movements, child abuse, folklore, terrorism and political assassinations." Rutgers-restricted Access
- Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources
- "Full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context." Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
- Dinah L. Shelton, editor. Detroit, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. 3 volumes.
- More than 350 signed, entries relating to crimes against humanity. Each entry includes a brief, selected bibliography. Emphasis on 19th and 20th century events, but also includes articles on earlier events. Appendix includes historical, international, and judicial primary documents. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Rwandan Genocide: The Essential Reference Guide
- Alexis Herr, editor. Santa Barbara, California: ABC-CLIO, 2018.
- Includes a thematic overview of the Rwandan Genocide as well as more than 100 in-depth entries on topics related to the genocide. Also contains 20 curated primary source documents and six perspective essays in which scholars debate key questions regarding the genocide. Rutgers-restricted Access
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies