Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browsing as Research
Step 1 Choose an aspect of interpersonal relationships, then...
- Specify a context in which the relationship occurs.
- Think about all the possibilities that define a two-person interaction.
- Choose, for example, between relationships of intimates, strangers, family members, friends, different cultures, co-workers, etc. You can search these concepts in the Encyclopedia of Human Relationships or the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Review theories that describe them.
- Remember ---all interpersonal relationships and interactions hinge upon how you define or perceive yourself, your role in relationships and how others perceive themselves.
Step 2 Decide on your topic:
Search on broad topics first to get ideas. This will help you
Identify search terms (keywords or subject terms) used to describe the theory, relationship or context you have chosen.
With a rough topic area you can begin browsing or searching to preliminarily assess current discourse, available resources, and feasibility of your topic.
Allow yourself a limited amount of time before deciding upon your topic, and stick to it! Many a student's hour is wasted from abandoning a topic and starting all over again.
This is also a good time to consult your instructor whether your topic is properly framed in the context of your course work.
Step 3 Writing Research Questions:
- Record the logical questions (several) you will need to answer for different aspects of your topic. Only then are you ready to search the very narrow topics covered by journal articles.
Tips and Suggestions #1: Skim Reference Books and Other Trusted Sources
Printed reference sources, and increasinlgy, electronic reference sources, remain useful tools for finding background information on important research, scholars and topics in a field. Here are some useful resources for research in interpersonal communication:
"Weekly reports produced by the well-regarded Washington reporting service Congressional Quarterly Inc. Each 24-page report focuses on a specific topic that is perceived as being either newsworthy or an issue of broad interest in the public policy sphere."
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
Stephen W. Littlejohn, Karen A. Foss, editors. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2009. This is an ebook--to access click title.
Handbook of Emotions
edited by Michael Lewis and Jeannette M. Haviland-Jones. New York: Guilford Press, 2000.
Handbook of Group Communication Theory and Research
Alexander Library, HM133.H354 1999
edited by Lawrence R. Frey ; associate editors Dennis S. Gouran and Marshall Scott Poole. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, Inc., c1999.
Handbook of Interpersonal Communication (2010)
Alexander Library Reference Collection, P94.7.H36 2010
edited by Gerd Antos and Eija Ventola ; in cooperation with Tilo Weber. Berlin ; New York : Mouton de Gruyter, c2010.
The Sage Handbook of Interpersonal Communication. 4th edition. (2011)
Alexander Library Reference Collection, BF637.C45I645 2011
edited by Mark L. Knapp and John A. Daly. Thousand Oaks, California: Sage Publications, c2011.
Handbook of Social Psychology
edited by Daniel Gilbert, Susan Fiske, Gardner Lindzey. Fourth edition. New York:McGraw-Hill, c2010. 2 vols
The New Handbook of Methods in Nonverbal Behavior Research
edited by Jinni A. Harrigan, Robert Rosenthal, Klaus R. Scherer. Oxford [England] ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
The SAGE handbook of nonverbal communication
edited by Valerie Manusov and Miles Patterson. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, c2006.
Need more help?
Try the following:
- Explore many different theories and circumstances surrounding interpersonal concepts by clicking on "Entries A -Z" and then typing "interpersonal" into the search box in the Encyclopedia of Communication Theory.
- ComAbstracts has a visual search explorer that you may find helpful - click on "Visual Communication Concept Explorer" on the top right side of the scree.