Climate Change and Rutgers New Brunswick

Columbia International Affairs Online provides access to the literature of theory and research in international affairs. CIAO also includes links to other sources for information on international affairs, a schedule of scholarly events in foreign affairs and security policy, and extensive information on nations and regions of the world, including maps.

This database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies, featuring more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters.

Covers technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. Other areas such as mines and quarry equipment, nuclear power plants, thermoelectric energy, tidal and wind power, treatment of sewage and industrial wastes, water analysis and treatment techniques are included.

WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world (Architecture: What is under the Hood). Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

"GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects."

PAIS International provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It includes two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive.

The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Coverage includes Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA), and Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA). Subjects include Aquaculture, Atmospheric pollution, Climatology, Geology, Marine biology, Meteorology, Oceanography, and Water quality.

The Natural Science Collection provides access to three databases: Agricultural and Environmental Science Database, Biological Sciences Database, and Earth, Atmospheric and Aquatic Science Database. It covers scholarly and technical literature in the subject areas of agriculture, aquatic science, biology, conservation, earth & environmental sciences, education, food science, forestry, geography, medical sciences, meteorology, pharmacology, public health and safety, veterinary science, and water resources.

The ProQuest Social Sciences Collection abstracts and indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences, while also providing access to over 1,800 scholarly journals. It will search several databases simultaneously, including PAIS International and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.

ScienceDirect, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. More than 2,500 journals are available on ScienceDirect and Rutgers University Libraries subscribe to over 1,500 of these titles.

Scopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals. It contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage strongest in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles) and health sciences (6,800+ titles), followed by the life sciences (4,300+ titles), and finally the social sciences & humanities (5,300+ titles).

Web of Science, with its three component files (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index) is a useful source for both scientific and social science scholarly literature on this subject.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts builds on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy.