Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ethnographies of Childhood

This research guide supports Dr. Balagopalan's course Ethnographies of Childhood for Spring 2022.

Encyclopedias and Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Childhood Studies: Rutgers-restricted resource that is international and cross-cultural in scope, transcending narrow geographical confines and analyzing modern and historical childhoods both locally and globally.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies: Rutgers-restricted resource. An interdisciplinary encyclopedia covering topics related to children and childhood studies including social constructions of childhood, children's rights, politics/representations/geographies, child-specific research methods, histories of childhood, transnational childhoods, sociology/anthropology of childhood theories and theorists, and other key concepts.

Databases & Search Engines

  • QuickSearch: The library search bar which searches books, articles, and more. Use the left-sidebar to narrow to Peer-Reviewed Journals to see only academic articles.
     
  • Google Scholar: This link allows you to search Google Scholar and see a "Get it @ R" link next to every resource available from Rutgers University Libraries.
     
  • Academic Search PremierRutgers-restricted database covering nearly every area of academic study.
     
  • AnthroSourceRutgers-restricted collection of all past and current publications of the American Anthropological Association, including journals, newsletters, bulletins, and conference proceedings.
     
  • Anthropology PlusRutgers-restricted journal articles, reports, and commentaries in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.