Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Organic Chemistry Lab 311 Spring 2021: SciFinder

This course guide was created specifically for Dr. Govindarajoo's Organic Chemistry Lab 311

Follow these steps:

  1. Register for SciFinder at least one week prior to the due date of your assignment following the instructions to the right. Log in to SciFinder.

  2. View the training tutorials: There are three short videos available on finding references on a topic, searching for authors, and understanding references.

  3. Search for references. Suggestions are provided in the box to the right, Searching in SciFinder.
  4. Get the full text for your articles. Please note that not every article in SciFinder will be available in full text at Rutgers. See notes about getting full text to the right and below.
  5. Answer the questions for your assignment. Refer to the Searching in SciFinder box to the right.
  6. Use ACS Style. Click on the Citations tab above, and follow the guidelines in the Quick Guide to ACS Style provided on that page.

NEW- Getting Full Text

SciFinder has changed the link to full text for articles. Once you find your article, to get full text you need to click on the link at the top left which says "Link to Other Sources". This is also available from the results list as a small icon that says "Other Sources". This will open another window telling you if full text is available at Rutgers. You may need to turn off your pop-up blocker if the window doesn't open. Newer articles may not be available due to restrictions by the publisher (embargoes).

 

Note: Trouble registering for SciFinder?

If you follow all of the steps below, and do not receive a confirmation e-mail from CAS within 15 minutes of creating your account, check your spam folder. If the e-mail is not there, then please call the CAS Helpline at 1-800-753-4227 from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm weekdays. CAS will send you another e-mail so that you can confirm your account. If you have any other difficulties registering for an account, call the CAS Helpline during their open hours.

How to Register for a SciFinder Web Account

Here are the steps to creating your SciFinder account.

In order to access SciFinder, you will first need to create an account. Navigate to Scifinder via the Libraries website: RUL home > Resources- Databases (under the search box) > By title- S > SciFinder. The direct link is:

http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/scifinder_scholar

In the second paragraph on this page it says "If you would like to be able to access SciFinder from your Rutgers office or lab computer, you must first register for SciFinder." Click on the word SciFinder to be taken to the page where you may register for an account. You must be logged in to Rutgers with your netID and password, or using a Rutgers VPN.

Once there, click on Create an Account. Fill out the registration using a valid Rutgers e-mail address. You will receive instructions on how to complete your registration via e-mail. Follow the instructions and connect to SciFinder by logging in with the username/password you created.

Please note that in order to use the standard structure drawing editor, you must have Javascript, Java, and Java Runtime Environment (JRE) enabled on your browser. You may also choose to use the new non-Java editor which is now available in SciFinder, but without some of the same features of the standard editor.

Sometimes Firefox will disable Java when it requires updating, so please make sure you have the most recent updates, or consider using another browser. Browser requirements for SciFinder can be found here: http://www.cas.org/products/scifinder/system-requirements-web


If you have any problems with the above, please contact Laura Palumbo at laura.palumbo@rutgers.edu,  or the CAS Help Center at 1-800-753-4227 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays.

Tips for Searching in SciFinder

  • You can find a particular article by using the Journal search in the left sidebar on the Explore References page. The journal title and the last name of the author are required. ACS journal title abbreviations are acceptable.
  • For your assignment you will need to find articles by a particular author. You will use Explore References: Author Name. To do this, refer to  How to Search by Author Name (video)*
  • When starting your search at Explore References, try using the Advanced Search feature, located under the blue search button. With this you can specify the date of publication, the author's name, and the title of the article. Hint: if you are not successful at first, try eliminating some of the search fields. For example, search the first author's last name, and the publication date of the article only.
  • Use the Analyze and Refine tabs. Analyze will show you the numbers of results for authors, journal titles, languages, etc. Refine will limit your results to the terms you enter, for example, a particular author, or a publication date or range. You can also sort results by publication year using the "Sort by" dropdown at the top of the results list.
  • Getting full text:  (Note- if you have trouble getting full text, turn off your pop-up blocker.) To get full text, click on an individual article title. In the top white bar, click on the last tab which says "Link to Other Sources". Once you click, a new window will open. If you don't get the article right away, under "Your organization's document resources" click the link that says "Full Text Search". For your assignment, the articles should be available.
  • If after viewing the tutorials you still need help, contact me at laura.palumbo@rutgers.edu.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.