Organic Chemistry Lab 311 Fall 2024

If after registering for an account and receiving the confirmation email you are having trouble logging in to Scifinder-n, try:

logging out, clearing your browser history, and starting a new session.

If this doesn't work, please contact the CAS helpdesk at 1 800-753-4227 from 8:00 am until midnight, Monday through Friday.

1. Register for CAS SciFinder-n at least one week before the due date of your assignment following the instructions below. Log in to CAS SciFinder-n.

2. Search for references. Suggestions are provided in the box below, Searching in SciFinder-n.
3. Get the full text for your articles. Please note that not every article in SciFinder will be available in full text at Rutgers, but the ones for your assignment should be available. See notes about getting full text to the left and below.
4. CAS Training tutorials are available to help you.
   1. Find References using Advanced Search
   2. Find References by a Specific Author
5. Answer the questions for your assignment. Refer to the Searching in CAS SciFinder-n box.
6. Use ACS Style. Click on the Citations tab above, and follow the guidelines in the Quick Guide to ACS Style provided on that page.

Here are the steps to creating your SciFinder-n account.

In order to access SciFinder-n, you will first need to create an account. Navigate to CAS Scifinder-n via the Libraries website: Libraries home > Databases (under the search box) > Jump to: C > CAS SciFinder-n > About CAS SciFinder-n. (This is the link under the description- do not click on the title.) The direct link is:
https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/databases/cas-scifinder-n

Under the Connection note on this page it says "New users, please create an account by registering with your Rutgers email address." Click where it says registering to be taken to the page where you may register for an account. You will need to log into Rutgers to register for an account, or be using a Rutgers VPN.

Once there, click Next, and then Accept the license agreement. Then select Rutgers - New Brunswick. Fill out the registration using a valid Rutgers e-mail address. Do not use your netID and Password for your SciFinder-n account, it should be something different. You will receive instructions on how to complete your registration via e-mail. Follow the instructions and connect to SciFinder-n by logging in with the username/password you created.

Browser requirements for SciFinder-n can be found here: https://www.cas.org/solutions/cas-scifinder-discovery-platform/cas-scifinder/cas-scifinder-n/system-requirements

If you have any problems with the above, please contact Laura Palumbo at laura.palumbo@rutgers.edu, or the CAS Help Center at 1-800-753-4227 from 8:00 a.m. to midnight weekdays.

• To find an article by title, click under the two search boxes where it says Add Advanced Search Field. From the dropdown, select Title. Then put the title into the search box and hit enter or click the magnifying glass at the end of the first search box. This will greatly reduce the number of results you get, allowing you to find your article more easily.
• For your assignment you will need to find articles by a particular author. Use the second search box for author name, and enter the last name  and the first and middle name or initials. Full names are better, if known. As you type, suggestions will appear. Select the correct name from the list.
• On the results page, use the Filter By function on the left. Under Document type check Journals, and under Publication Year enter the publication year range 2004 to 2024. You can select a particular journal title, such as the Journal of the American Chemical Society, by clicking Publication Name and selecting it from the results.
• Results should automatically be sorted by Publication date, newest first. This is indicated at the top right, above the results.
• Getting full text:  (Note- if you have trouble getting full text, turn off your pop-up blocker.) Click the dropdown for Full Text at the bottom left of each result, and select Full Text Search. Once you click, a new window will open. For your assignment, the articles should be available and you should be taken to the journal's website.
• If you still need help, contact me at laura.palumbo@rutgers.edu.