Organic Chemistry Lab 310 Fall 2022

The CAS Help line is now open 8:00 am until 12:00 midnight ET, Monday through Friday. The number is 1-800-753-4227.

1. Register for SciFinder-n following the instructions to the left. Log in to CAS SciFinder-n.
2. View the training tutorials:
   • Searching in CAS SciFinder-n
   • Draw or import a structure
   • Search for references by author


3. Search for references. Suggestions are provided in the box below, Searching in SciFinder. We will review this in your library session.
4. Get the full text for your article by clicking on the Full Text dropdown at the bottom left of the article result, and then select Full Text Search. This will open a new window which will automatically look for full text in Rutgers journal subscriptions.
   Please note that not every article will be available in full text at Rutgers. See notes about getting full text below.
5. Answer the questions for your assignment. Refer to the Searching in CAS SciFinder-n box.
6. Use ACS Style. Click on the Citations tab above, and follow the guidelines in the in the online References chapter or the Quick Guide to ACS Style provided on that page.

• For your assignment, you can draw the substance using the structure editor by clicking Substances on the left, and the Draw button on the right side of the search box. You can use the default structure editor, or select ChemDoodle from the dropdown at the top left of the editor screen. When you are done drawing click OK, then the blue search button on the next screen. When you see the correct structure on the results page, click on it, and then select Synthesize from the menu on the left of the popup. Once you have a set of results, you can select the title of the articles associated with the reactions. You may want to limit your results to Document type > Journal by using the filters on the left.

• If you know the name of a substance, click the Substances tab on the left, and then type it into the search box. You can also search by using using the CAS registry number, if known (better). Using the name of a substance may produce multiple similar results, so be sure that you select the correct one by checking the structure.

• Another way to find references is to click the References tab on the left. In general, you will want to get as many references as possible when starting a search in SciFinder-n, and then refine your search. You may refine by language, document type, or publication date, for example.

• You can find articles by a particular author using References: Author Name in the second search box. You can refine your results to authors from Rutgers by using the limiter on the left for Organization. Other ways to refine results are also available. To review how to do this, refer to Search for references by author.

• Getting full text: To get full text, click on the dropdown in the bottom left corner of a result. Then click on Full Text search. A new window will open with links to the article. (You may need to disable pop-up blockers.) If this doesn't happen, and instead you see a message that the article is not at Rutgers, you will need to get a copy through Inter-Library Loan. In this case you may want to choose another article as this could take more than a week.

If you need help, contact me at laura.palumbo@rutgers.edu.