Core Topics in Art History: Imagining the Orient 21:082:306:01
Books
Disorienting Vision by
This book begins with a painting. Loyalty to cultural artefacts, listening carefully to what they have to say, is the secret of Inge E. Boer's approach to the French Orientalists tradition. In a post-Said manner, Boer provides close readings of philosophical and literary texts, paintings, prints and other artefacts. Her readings establish a dialogue with critical post-colonial and feminist theory as well as (art-) historical and literary scholarship. She treats all these artefacts like subjects in their own right, enabling them to show and tell. This dialogic attention to detail makes for an innovative vision that shuns the sweeping statements of a priori conviction, as much as avoiding the unwitting endorsements that the rhetoric of scholarship sometimes promotes.
Call Number: PQ143.A2B64 2004ISBN: 9042017236Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Orientalists by
This is a sociological and historical study into the intimate and complex relationship between 19th century Western artists and the Orient. Paintings by, amongst others, Gros, Girodet, Delacroix, Ingres, Chasseriau and Corot, give examples of what became known as the Orientalist movement.
Call Number: N8217.E88P44813 2004ISBN: 2879392802Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Edges of Empire by
"Edges of Empire" is a timely reassessment of the history and legacy of Orientalist art and visual culture through its focus on the intersection between modernization, modernism and Orientalism. Covers indigenous art and agency, contemporary practices of collection and display, and a survey of key Orientalist tropes Contains original essays on new perspectives for scholars and students of art history, architecture, museum studies and cultural and postcolonial studies Highlights contested identities and new definitions of self through topics such as 19th century monuments to Empire, cultural cross-dressing, performance and display at the international exhibitions, and contemporary museological practice.
Call Number: N7429.E34 2005ISBN: 1280286075Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Orientalist Aesthetics - Art, Colonialism, and French North Africa 1880-1930 by
Lavishly illustrated with exotic images ranging from Renoir's forgotten Algerian oeuvre to the abstract vision of Matisse's Morocco and beyond, this book is the first history of Orientalist art during the period of high modernism. Roger Benjamin, drawing on a decade of research in untapped archives, introduces many unfamiliar paintings, posters, miniatures, and panoramas and discovers an art movement closely bound to French colonial expansion. Orientalist Aesthetics approaches the visual culture of exoticism by ranging across the decorative arts, colonial museums, traveling scholarships, and art criticism in the Salons of Paris and Algiers. Benjamin's rediscovery of the important Society of French Orientalist Painters provides a critical context for understanding a lush body of work, including that of indigenous Algerian artists never before discussed in English. The painter-critic Eug#65533;ne Fromentin tackled the unfamiliar atmospheric conditions of the desert, Etienne Dinet sought a more truthful mode of ethnographic painting by converting to Islam, and Mohammed Racim melded the Persian miniature with Western perspective. Benjamin considers armchair Orientalists concocting dreams from studio bric-#65533;-brac, naturalists who spent years living in the oases of the Sahara, and Fauve and Cubist travelers who transposed the discoveries of the Parisian Salons to create decors of indigenous figures and tropical plants. The network that linked these artists with writers and museum curators was influenced by a complex web of tourism, rapid travel across the Mediterranean, and the march of modernity into a colonized culture. Orientalist Aesthetics shows how colonial policy affected aesthetics, how Europeans visualized cultural difference, and how indigenous artists in turn manipulated Western visual languages.
Call Number: ND1460.E95B46 2003ISBN: 0520222172Publication Date: 2003-02-03
Databases
Academic Search Premiere
Art Bibliographies Modern - contains citations and abstracts only. Full text journal articles can be found in other databases.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art - contains citations and abstracts only. Full text journal articles can be found in other databases.
Historical Abstracts - contains citations and abstracts only. Full text journal articles can be found in other databases.
JSTOR