Databases
Art Index Retrospective (Rutgers Restricted)
Art Index Retrospective contains the so-called 'back file' of the print Art Index from the first volume, 1929, through 1984. The index is citation based, and the information indexed is largely limited to the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts. Because the index stretches back to the first quarter of the twentieth century, it contains citations for primary source material on a variety of art historical movements in the field of modernism.
ArtSTOR (Rutgers Restricted)
Artstor is a digital image library of over 2 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. A non-profit organization funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Artstor digitizes and provides high-quality digitized images from numerous museums, academic institutions, and private foundations.
JSTOR
Contains journals from a wide variety of disciplines including but not limited to art, art history, history, middle east studies, religion and philosophy.
Journals
Arabi (Ittiḥād Mudarrisī al-Lughah al-ʻArabīyah bi-Indūnīsiyā)
Peer reviewed
Ars orientalis (formerly Ars Islamica)
Published by the Freer Gallery and the University of Michigan Department of Fine Arts, this journal publishes an issue once per year that concentrates on a central theme related to Asian art. Articles are cross-disciplinary. (Not peer reviewed).
Bulletin of the American Institute for Iranian Art and Archaeology
Not peer reviewed
Bulletin of the American Institute for Persian Art and Archaeology
Not peer reviewed
Bulletin of the Asia Institute
Not peer reviewed
Muqarnas = Muqarnas.
Published by the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture at Yale University (Not peer reviewed).
Books in the John Cotton Dana Library (Newark)
Architectural Excellence in Islamic Societies by
This book discusses architectural excellence in Islamic societies drawing on textual and visual materials, from the Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT, developed over more than three decades. At the core of the discussion are the efforts, processes, and outcomes of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA). The AKAA recognises excellence in architectural and urban interventions within cities and settlements in the Islamic world which are continuously challenged by dramatic changes in economies, societies, political systems, decision-making, and environmental requirements. Architectural Excellence in Islamic Societies responds to the recurring question about the need for architectural awards, arguing that they are critical to validating the achievements of professional architects while making their contributions more widely acknowledged by the public. Through analysis and critique of over sixty awarded and shortlisted projects from over thirty-five countries, this book provides an expansive look at the history of the AKAA through a series of narratives on the enduring values of architecture, architectural and urban conservation, built environment sustainability, and architectural pluralism and multiple modernities. 　 Architectural Excellence in Islamic Societies will appeal to professionals and academics, researchers, and upper-level students in architectural history and theory and built environment related fields.
ISBN: 9781351057479Publication Date: 2020-07-15
Art and Architecture in the Islamic Tradition by
What is 'art' in the sense of the Islamic tradition? Mohammed Hamdouni Alami argues that Islamic art has historically been excluded from Western notions of art; that the Western aesthetic tradition's preoccupation with the human body has meant that Islamic and Western art being perceived as inherently at odds. However, the move away from this 'anthropomorphic aesthetic' in Western art movements, such as modern abstract and constructivist painting, have presented the opportunity for new ways of viewing and evaluating Islamic art and architecture. Drawing upon classical Arabic literature, philosophy, poetry, medicine and theology, along with contemporary Western art theory, the author uncovers a specific Islamic theoretical vision of art and architecture based on poetic practice, politics, desire and the 'gaze'. In so doing, he addresses the lack of recognition given to early Islamic thought and aesthetics in comparison with other historical periods and traditions.
Call Number: N6260.H25 2014ISBN: 1780765614Publication Date: 2014-02-27
Islam by
Islam, the second largest and the youngest of the major world religions, has changed the world and left its mark on human history since the appearance of the prophet Mohammed in the seventh century. Islam: Art and Architecture follows the historical development and artistic expressions of the Islamic dynasties and regions.
Call Number: N6260.I75 2015ISBN: 3848008386Publication Date: 2015-04-30
Muslim Devotional Art in India by
This book highlights the history of Islamic popular devotional art and visual culture in 20th-century India, weaving the personal narrative of the author's journey through his understanding of the faith. The volume begins with an introductory exploration of how the basic and universal image of Mecca and Medina may have been imported into Indian popular print culture and what variants it resulted in here. Besides providing a historical context of the pre-print culture of popular Muslim visuality, the book also explores the impact the Partition of India of 1947 may have made on the calendar art in South Asia. A large portion of the book focuses on the contemporary prints of different localised images found in India and what role these play in the users' lives, especially in the augmentation of their popular faith and cultural practices. It also compares the images published in India with some of those available in Pakistan, since the different trends in both countries reflect important socio-political trajectories. Finally, the volume provides a short introspection on why such a vibrant visual culture continues to thrive among South Asian Muslims despite the questions raised by the orthodoxy on its legitimacy in Islam, and why images and popular visual cultures are inevitable for popular piety despite the orthodox Muslims' increasing dissociation from them. An illustrated volume, this is arguably the first book of its kind on Indian Muslim poster art. Using rare images and simple narratives, with anecdotes about rituals, ceremonies and cultural traditions running parallel to research findings, it will appeal to the lay reader as well as the specialist.
Call Number: N7304.S234 2012ISBN: 0415678382Publication Date: 2012-08-13
Books in Other Rutgers Libraries
Architecture and Polyphony by
Valuable insights into a wide array of architectural practices, methods, and design solutions from the Muslim world. The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established in 1977 to enhance the understanding and appreciation of Islamic culture as expressed though architecture. Previous winners of this prestigious award, which is given every three years, include such architects as Geoffrey Bawa, Balkrishna Doshi, Ken Yeang, Jean Nouvel, Charles Correa, Frei Otto, and Hassan Fathy. For this current cycle, the Award has paid special attention to identifying examples of the new types of architecture that are emerging throughout the Muslim world. The documented projects represent efforts in the categories of infrastructure, landscaping, community development, public urban spaces, and responses to the growing housing crisis in many Muslim societies. For the 2004 award, the steering committee included Billie Tsien, Jacques Herzog, Glenn Lowry, and Mohsen Mostafavi. Each of the winning projects is profiled and illustrated in depth, and critical essays consider the challenges and rewards confronting architects working in Muslim lands. 270 illustrations, 100 in color.
Call Number: NA1465.3.A73 2005ISBN: 9780500285336Publication Date: 2005-04-17
Cosmos and Community in Early Medieval Art by
In the rapidly changing world of the early Middle Ages, depictions of the cosmos represented a consistent point of reference across the three dominant states--the Frankish, Byzantine, and Islamic Empires. As these empires diverged from their Greco-Roman roots between 700 and 1000 A.D. and established distinctive medieval artistic traditions, cosmic imagery created a web of visual continuity, though local meanings of these images varied greatly. Benjamin Anderson uses thrones, tables, mantles, frescoes, and manuscripts to show how cosmological motifs informed relationships between individuals, especially the ruling elite, and communities, demonstrating how domestic and global politics informed the production and reception of these depictions. The first book to consider such imagery across the dramatically diverse cultures of Western Europe, Byzantium, and the Islamic Middle East, Cosmos and Community in Early Medieval Art illuminates the distinctions between the cosmological art of these three cultural spheres, and reasserts the centrality of astronomical imagery to the study of art history.
Call Number: N5975.A53 2017ISBN: 0300219164Publication Date: 2017-02-28
God Is the Light of the Heavens and the Earth by
The Qur'an makes rich references to light, tying it to revelation, and light consequently permeates the culture and visual arts of the Islamic lands. God Is the Light of the Heavens and the Earth explores the integral role of light in Islamic civilization across a wide range of media, from the Qur'an and literature to buildings, paintings, performances, photography, and other works produced over the past 14 centuries. A team of international experts conveys current scholarship on Islamic art in a manner that is engaging and accessible to the general reader. The objects discussed include some of the first identifiable works of Islamic art--modest oil lamps inscribed in Arabic, which developed into elaborately decorated metal and glass lamps and chandeliers. Later, photography, which creates images with light, was readily adopted in Islamic lands, and it continues to provide inspiration for contemporary artists. Generously illustrated with specially commissioned, sumptuous color photographs, this book shows the potential of light to reveal color, form, and meaning.
Call Number: NX688.A2B54 2013ISBN: 0300215282Publication Date: 2015-12-15
Architecture Beyond Architecture by
This volume features the projects entered for the 1995 Aga Khan Award for Architecture. An introductory chapter discusses the award and explores spirituality in buildings and contemporary society. The book includes descriptions of the winning designs in Yemen, Tunisia, Pakistan, Senegal and India. Contributors include Charles Jencks, Peter Eisenman and Frank Gehry.
Call Number: NA1460.A7326 1995ISBN: 1854904434Publication Date: 1996-01-01- Architecture for Islamic societies today by
Contains the jury's selection for the 4th cycle of awards for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture.
Call Number: Oversize NA380.A734 1994Publication Date: 1994
Films on Middle Eastern and Islamic Art
Explores the connection of the religion of Islam with its art and architecture, revealing how artistic giants such as Siniam were led by Islamic movement to craft a glorious aesthetic heritage. Their faith is reflected in the related but distinct achievements throughout the centuries.