Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Journal Article?
A scholarly journal contains articles and reviews written for an audience of professionals/researchers in a particular field. Specialists rely on these publications in order to understand the major advances in their discipline including theoretical innovations and new methodological techniques. As a student, part of your job is to learn about these developments and how they relate to the design of original research.
Work in HIB draws upon social and psychological theories from increasingly interdisciplinary fields. As a consequence, you will need to consider other topics that are relevant to your research. For example, health information seeking behavior studies/literature can be found in journals that are part of the medical field or a combination of social science and medical fields/disciplines.
Selected List of Journals to Browse or Search
Selected Databases for HIB Research
For a complete list of indexes and databases, visit the Indexes and Databases page accessible from the Databases link on the Libraries home page. For most databases, you will need to log in with your NetID when connecting from off campus.
Many of the databases listed below include a thesaurus unique to the database. When using the databases, you should familiarize yourself with those thesauri.
Some Major Interdisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Premier
Also frequently referred to as EBSCOHost. Multidisciplinary including library and information science fields.
ACM Digital Library
Full text collection of journals and conference proceedings published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM).
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
A national education database that includes many library and information science journals.
Covers more than 30% of the world's literature in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, information science, materials science, physical sciences and biomedical engineering.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Coverage includes library science, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
PsycINFO (including PsycARTICLES)
A comprehensive psychological and behavioral sciences disciplines.
This is a massive full text database that includes some key LIS journals such as the Information Processing & Management, Journal of Academic Librarianship, Library and Information Science Research and Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services, among many other titles.
Covers both social and behavioral science topics.
Wiley Online Library
This is a multi-disciplinary database that includes full-text journal articles and some full-text reference sources. It also includes abstracts of additional journal articles and reference sources, summary information for online books, citations to Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and abstracts of databases.