Professional Seminar in Teaching
This research guide is intended to help students enrolled in the Professional Seminar in Teaching find resources in literature, education, and related fields.
Meet Your Librarian!
Zara Wilkinson
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
Website
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
Databases for Literary Research
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliographyindexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- Literature Online (LION)Searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language as well as literary criticism.
- JSTORJSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals in many disciplines, including literature, history, African American Studies, and more.
- Project MuseProject Muse ® provides full-text access to more than 320 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities; social sciences; and mathematics. Fields covered include literature and criticism; history; the visual and performing arts; cultural studies; education; political science; gender studies; economics; and many others.
Databses for Education Research
- ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterThe largest education database in the world, ERIC includes citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, dissertations, theses, and other materials in the field of education.
- ProQuest Education DatabaseProQuest Education provides access to more than 900 scholarly journals in the field of Education. Offers comprehensive coverage of education topics.
Databases for Research in Related Fields
- America: History and LifeThe America: History and Life database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete combines two earlier databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. coverage for many more.
- Film & Television Literature IndexFilm & Television Literature Index (FTLI) is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering all types of writing, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals on topics for film and television.
- PAIS IndexPAIS Index provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, including the economy, education, labor, and politics.
- PsycINFOPsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Databases for Multidisciplinary Research
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches across a wide range of scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, conference papers, and technical reports.
Finding Books
QuickSearch is the best place to start your search for books, and you can also use it to search for articles. You can limit your results to just books by clicking on "Books" (under "Resource Type."
Below you will find a video that walks you through how to use QuickSearch to find a book on a specific topic.
Refworks
Refworks is a research and citation manager that makes it easy to save and organize references. Refworkscan help you do the following:
- Save references from major online databases and QuickSearch, the Rutgers library catalog
- Access your references and documents from any computer or mobile device
- Organize, highlight, and annotate your documents
- Add citations and footnotes to your research paper from references in your RefWorks library
- Automatically create a bibliography or works cited in any citation style