Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nick Virgilio Haiku Archive

Use this guide to access the digitized files of the Nick Virgilio Haiku Archive, housed at the Paul Robeson Library, Rutgers University - Camden

Finding Aid for the Nick Virgilio Haiku Archive

Rutgers University-Camden Library

Finding aid for

The Nicholas Virgilio Papers

Date range: 1962-1989

Bulk dates:  Undetermined

 

Finding Aid created by Randolph Sparks and Matthew Ward, 2016

Copyright Rutgers University-Camden.

 

Summary Information:

 

Creator: Nicholas Virgilio

 

Extent: 14 boxes

 

Abstract: The Nicholas Virgilio Papers collection includes haiku and personal correspondence from the Camden, New Jersey poet, including multiple drafts of some of Nicholas Virgilio’s better known poems, as well as hundreds, perhaps even thousands, of unpublished and therefore never before seen haiku.

 

Call Number: Rutgers University-Camden Special Collections

 

Language: The material is in English.

 

Access and Use:

 

Acquisition Information: The records came to the Rutgers University-Camden Library in 1999. Future additions to the records are not expected.

 

Access Restrictions: The collection is open to research.  

 

Copyright: .

 

Cite as: Item, folder, box, Nicholas Virgilio Haiku Archive, Rutgers University-Camden Library, Rutgers University-Camden

 

Background Information:

 

History: In 1999, the estate of noted American haiku poet Nick Virgilio entrusted Rutgers University–Camden with the safekeeping of the poet’s uncollected papers. Included in this collection of material were letters, stacks of Virgilio’s copies, various ephemera and a wealth of miscellaneous writings: essays or fragments on the writing of haiku poetry or on the nature of the haiku art.

 

Scope and Content and Arrangement:

 

Nearly all of the material in this collection is undated, and many haiku often appear on a single page. Therefore, the collection is arranged by series, according to the kind of paper the haiku have been written on. These types of papers include press releases, poetry readings, Virgilio’s resume, team rosters and various advertisements. The correspondence in this collection is arranged according to incoming, outgoing and to Marilyn (Virgilio’s love interest).

 

Scope and Content:

 

This collection consists primarily of a wide variety of haiku. It should be noted that each sheet contains a multitude of haiku and that some of the haiku are written on correspondence. The collection does contain some correspondence, some related to Virgilio’s dealings with publishers. There is also a small amount of personal correspondence, as well as many copies of fliers for events he was a part of.

 

Subject Terms:

 

Subjects:

 

  • Haiku
  • Correspondence

 

Related Materials:

 

Researchers interested in this archive may also wish to consult the following resources:

 

The Pamela Miller Ness Collection of Printed Haiku in the Rutgers University-Camden Library’s Special Collections

 

Rutgers University-Camden Nick Virgilio Poetry Project Website - https://nickvirgilio.camden.rutgers.edu/

 

Contents Listing:

 

Folder #                                   Description

 

BOX 1 – Haiku

1-30                                         Haiku – 1092 Niagara              

 

BOX 2 – Haiku

1-30                                         Haiku – 1092 Niagara

 

BOX 3 – Haiku

1-8                                           Haiku – 1092 Niagara

9-15                                         Haiku – Rhistoric Publications

15-30                                       Haiku – Visiting Team Rosters

 

BOX 4 – Haiku

1-30                                         Haiku – Visiting Team Rosters

 

BOX 5 – Haiku

1-8                                           Haiku – Visiting Team Rosters

9-18                                         Haiku – Double Sided

19-30                                       Haiku – One Sided

 

BOX 6 – Haiku

1-13                                         Haiku – One Sided

14                                            Haiku – Jenny Yerkes

15                                            Haiku – Final Examination

16                                            Haiku – Slide

17                                            Haiku – First Book

18                                            Haiku – Virgilio Flyers

19                                            Haiku – To Whom It May Concern

20                                            Haiku – Lundin

21                                            Haiku – Camden Elegist

22                                            Haiku – Philadelphia Press

23                                            Haiku – Sacred Heart

24                                            Haiku – Lily

25                                            Haiku – Lily

26                                            Haiku – Do You Write Poetry

27                                            Haiku – Century 21

28-30                                       Haiku – Goat

 

BOX 7 – Haiku

1-8                                           Haiku – Fairview Residents

9-15                                         Haiku – Fragile/Construction Paper

16                                            Haiku – Miscellaneous Walt Whitman Center

17                                            Haiku – Other People’s Writing

18                                            Haiku – Haiku and Literary Organizations

19                                            Haiku – Schools/Universities/Colleges

20                                            Haiku – Newspapers 1986-1987

21-22                                       Haiku – Newspapers Updated

23-24                                       Haiku – Letterhead

25-26                                       Haiku – Miscellaneous

27                                            Haiku – Career Information

28-31                                       Haiku – Coca Cola

 

BOX 8 – Haiku

1-30                                         Haiku – Coca Cola

 

BOX 9 – Haiku

1-4                                           Haiku – Coca Cola

5                                              Haiku – Photocopy

6-7                                           Haiku – Painted Bride

8                                              Haiku – 76ers

9-10                                         Haiku – Colored Print

11                                            Haiku – Calendar

12                                            Haiku – Directory

13-14                                       Haiku – Photocopied Poetry Book

15-16                                       Haiku – Long Poems

17-18                                       Haiku – Published/Award Winning Haiku

19-21                                       Haiku – History/Technique

22-23                                       Haiku – Handwriting

24                                            Haiku – Odd Shaped Hand Written

25-28                                       Haiku – Half Sized Friend of Walt Whitman

29-30                                       Haiku – Odd Shaped

 

BOX 10 – Haiku and Correspondence

1                                              Haiku – Odd Shaped

2-9                                           Haiku – Half Pages

10                                            Haiku – Handmade Notepads

11-30                                       Correspondence – Outgoing

 

BOX 11 – Correspondence

1-15                                         Correspondence – Outgoing

16                                            Correspondence – Half Sheets/Outgoing

17-21                                       Correspondence – Incoming

22                                            Correspondence 

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.