Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Literature: What's the Difference?
- Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Literature: What's the Difference?Not everything published in scholarly journals is appropriate to use as a resource for research. Book reviews, editorial (opinion) pieces, short news items etc. do not count as "scholarly articles". If you are unsure about using the information you've found, be sure to check with a librarian or your professor.
Getting to the Article
We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. In certain databases, full text is available via PDF or HTML links. However, in many of our databases you will need to select the 
button. This is a program overlaid on our databases that tries to match the citation to the RUL holdings.
- Ideally, when you the select thebutton, you will see a link to full text
- If Rutgers University Libraries has the article but not electronically, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Request button in the Library Catalog record (after signing in with NETID)
- If Rutgers University Libraries does not have the article at all, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery. Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. . The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days. Link: https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/ill-login
Searching Tips
Searching Tips:
Start out with general ideas/terms and then work on narrowing your search.
Determine the correct SUBJECT heading for more specific searching.
Pay attention to what is available in the database you are searching (full text?, years available, etc.)
Let the Database help you!
If you are not finding anything, or you are finding too much, change your search and ask for help.
Looking for Empirical Studies? Check for these words: this study, control group, participants, sample, respondents, methodology.
Finding Articles
- Indexes and DatabasesSearch for articles in indexes and databases.
The libraries have many different indexes and databases with access to full text articles and citations.
QuickSearch (QuickSearch Help)
or
Choose a specific database from our list of databases.
Articles that are not available electronically may be available for Article Delivery.
Looking for Empirical Studies? Check for these words: this study, control group, participants, sample, respondents, methodology
Databases
- Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)This General Database is the an excellent place to start for full-text scholarly articles.
- Google ScholarSearch is limited to scholarly articles. Some available in Full-Text (must be logged in). Advanced Search available.
- JSTORJSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline is a legal research collection that features full-text searching of laws and regulations, case law, treaties and agreements, scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals, and related materials.
- PAIS InternationalPAIS International provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It includes two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsThe database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy.
- ProQuest SociologyThis database provides access to full-text articles from over 275 sociology, social work and related social sciences journals
More Suggested Databases
- Congressional PublicationsProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications1976 to present. Some full text.
Current Events and News
- Access World NewsIndex to newspapers around the world. Full text available.
Philadelphia Inquirer, The Star Ledger, Local NJ and PA area newspapers. - FactivaIncludes access to the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, the Washington Post and other major global newspapers. Choose HOME for recent news and specific publications on the Newsstand or Search.
- Westlaw Campus ResearchNew York Times. Washington Post.
- CQ Researcher1991 to present. Full text on current topics.
- Ethnic NewsWatch1960 to present, full text of minority, native and ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Rutgers Libraries Research Guide: NewspapersThis guide will lead to many newspaper sites with online searchable archives, as well as to physical collections of newspapers.
- Rutgers Libraries Research Guide: Current EventsLinks to various types of consumer information, current event, and popular culture sites.
Google Scholar
Not everything on Google Scholar is peer-reviewed. It is not possible to filter only to peer-reviewed, so pay attention to your sources! Google Scholar also does not contain ALL the scholarship, especially the most recent articles that may be available in a library database.
Google Scholar automatically places AND between words: zombie library (This will conduct a search for zombie and library)
Exact Phrase Searching: Enter the phrase in quotation marks: "zombie apocalypse"
Search related words: ~library (This will conduct a search for library, libraries, librarian)
Search for alternative words: use OR (must be caps), with terms in parentheses:
Limit to specific sites: limit to specific sites such as .org/.edu/.gov at end of search type site: type you wish to limit to ex: "zombie apocalypse" site: .org
Search for alternate terms using OR, with the terms enclosed in parentheses: (zombie OR undead)
Settings:
1. Link to Bibliography Manager (RefWorks)
2. Library Links- Choose Rutgers in order to see what is available to you via Rutgers subscriptions.