Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

American History Research Guide: Find Books

Rutgers Book Delivery

Books you find in QuickSearch can be delivered to the library of your choosing. Click the title in your search results to go to the full record, sign in (if you haven't already), then click Request.

Other Library Catalogs

The catalogs listed below provide access to library resources beyond Rutgers University. For a more complete list of catalogs, click here.

Hathi Trust
Fulltext database of books and other material. Bigger than Google books and more useful search options. Log with your NetID to take advantage of all its features, including creating your personal collections of titles.

WorldCat
A worldwide library catalog, over 400 million titles from research libraries across the globe. To place an interlibrary loan request, simply click on the "Place ILL Request" link within the record of the book you'd like to borrow.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
CRL is a special library that holds rare materials not often collected even by major research libraries. Rutgers Libraries is a member and Rutgers staff, students and faculty are eligible for long-term loans from their collections.

Interlibrary Loan options

If you want to borrow a book that is checked out, go to the full record, log in, and click EZ-Borrow.  EZ-Borrow is a fast and easy way to borrow the book from a nearby university library. It usually takes three to five working days. If EZ-Borrow doesn't have the book, try UBorrow. UBorrow is a similar service from the Big Ten universities; mouse over Services & Tools on the Libraries homepage, click Request/Borrow/Renew, then UBorrow.

Occasionally neither EZ-Borrow and Uborrow will have a book you need. In that case, simply request the book (or video, etc.) through regular Interlibrary Loan (ILL). From the Libraries Libraries homepage, mouse over Services & Tools, click Borrow/Request/Renew, then "Request an Interlibrary Loan." Log in, click "Book Request" and fill out the form. How long this takes depends upon the loaning library. Usually between one and two weeks.

QuickSearch to Find Books

QuickSearch is the search option at the top of the Libraries homepage. It searches both the Libraries collections and most (but not all) of the databases. You need to use QuickSearch to look for ebooks and/or print books. If you are searching by topic, there are two ways to limit your search to books. See the two boxes below.

QuickSearch does not search the America: History & Life database. For articles in American history, see the Find Articles tab.

If you are looking for a specific book, usually the simplest way is to simply search for the author and a few words from the title together:
- blumin "middle class"
The book you want should appear at the top or near the top of your search results. Without an author's name, you may have to be more specific, search for more words or phrases from the title:
- "emergence of the middle class social experience"
- "middle class" "american city"

If you have any questions or run into any problems, click Email Me.

QuickSearch: Searching and Limiting Your Search to Books

The basic search option from the Libraries homepage searches authors, titles, subjects, and abstracts and fulltext, if available, across most of the Libraries resources: books, scholarly articles, news sources, videos, etc.

How to build your basic search:
Use * to search for forms of a word: slave* searches slave, slaves, slavery, slaveholder, etc.,
Use "double quotes" to search as a phrase
Use AND, OR  (in caps) to combine terms:
- AND focuses a search: "united states" AND slave* is more specific, retrieves fewer items than just "united states"
- OR broadens a search: "united states" OR america* retrieves more items than "united states" alone
Use parentheses to combine AND, OR: slave* AND history AND ("united states" OR america*)

Once you've completed your search, you'll see on the left a number of ways that you can refine, filter your search result. One of them is Resource Type. Click that and select Books. This will limit to both ebooks and print books.

QuickSearch may often deliver a rather overwhelming search result. Check out the other filters to gain more control over your search. Subject and Creation Date, for example, can be very useful.

QuickSearch: Using Advanced Search to look for books, authors. etc.

From QuickSearch on the Libraries homepage, click Advanced Search on the right. Then, under Resource Type on the right, select Books.

As opposed to the default, the basic search, Advanced Search lets you search with more flexibility and precision by searching for words and/or phrases in specific "fields" (author, title, subject) in the records of the Libraries' books (or of a different Resource Type or across all of the types). For example, if you wanted to find books by George Marshall on the Second World War:
- On the first line: Author ... is (exact) ... marshall, george
- On the second line: Subject ... contains ... "world war, 1939-1945"

American History Librarian- New Brunswick

Profile Photo
Tom Glynn
Contact:
Alexander Library
Rutgers University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6105

Suggest a Title for Purchase

If you'd like to suggest a title to add to our collections, please fill out this form

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.