Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Black Studies: Interdisciplinary Archival Research: Newark Newspapers

Newark Newspapers

Star-Ledger

Today's Star-Ledger plus a fourteen day archive is available online.

Full-text access to the Newark Star-Ledger is available from 1989 to the present on Access World News (Restricted Access). The Dana Library has the Newark Star-Ledger on microfilm going back to 1980; microfilm reels back to August 1, 1945 are also available from the Rutgers Alexander Library in New Brunswick. The Newark Public Library also has the Star-Ledger in its entirely (1939 forward) as well as its predecessor, the Newark Star Eagle (1916-1939), available on microfilm.

While there is no complete printed or online index to the pre-1989 Star-Ledger, the New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library has the card file Cummings Index to the Star-Ledger from 1971 to 1996, as well as locally compiled Newark News Indexes, 1916-1970. NPL's New Jersey Newspaper & Periodical Index currently includes the Cummings Index to the Star-Ledger from 1971 to about mid-1979.

From the 1950's to the mid-1980's librarians at the New Jersey State Library clipped articles from several newspapers, including the Newark Star Ledger, on major topics. The news stories were assigned subject headings and filed in folders. These clippings are available for review at the New Jersey State Library in Trenton. See the detailed Subject Headings List for available files.

Newark Evening News

The Newark Evening News Morgue clippings file, arranged by subject, is available on microfilm in the New Jersey Information Center.

To see what folders are available on microfilm, you can browse the Newark Evening News Clippings Archive by letter:
|A-C| |D-H| |I-New Jersey| |Newark| |Neway-Rogers| |Roget-S| |T-Z|

The Dana Library has the microfilm of the Newark portion of the Newark News clipping file in the NEWARK collection. (Those files which were labeled "Newark- ".) To see the folders included on the Dana microfilm, browse the Newark portion of the Index.

African American Newspapers

The Newark Public Library has digitized their African American Newark Newspapers collection. The collection consists of individual issues of African-American newspapers published in Newark, including the Newark Herald, Advance, Herald Advance and New Jersey Herald News published from the 1930s to the 1960s.

The above collection does not include the New Jersey Afro-American, which was published in Newark from 1941 to 1988. Newark Public has the newspaper on microfilm, as does the Rutgers Alexander Library in New Brunswick.

The Dana Library has the following in the NEWARK Collection::

Black News
Published by: Black People of Newark
Vol.1 No.4 (1969)
NEWARK HX92 .N6B53

Black New ark
Published by: Committee for Unified Newark
Vol. 1 No. 5 (April 1972) - Vol. 2 No. 14 (Dec. 1973) [Incomplete]
NEWARK HX92 .N6B53

Unity and Struggle
Published by: Committee for Unified Newark
Vol. 3 No. 1 (Jan/Feb. 1974) - Vol. 8 No. 1/2 (Feb. 1979) [Incomplete]
NEWARK HX92 .N6B53

Ethnic Newspapers

The Luso Americano, the Portuguese American newspaper, has been published in Newark since 1928. The Cummings New Jersey Information Center in the Newark Public Library has the Luso Americano from 1971 to the present.

Ethnic newspapers are a valuable source of information on the lives and concerns of immigrant and ethnic groups. The Cummings New Jersey Information Center has a large collection of New Jersey Newspapers on Microfilm which includes a number of ethnic Newark newspapers.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.