Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Transgender Issues and Resources: Blogs, Websites & Archives

Select resources on Transgender and LGBTQ+ Issues available at Rutgers University Libraries. Some of the resources are licensed only for Rutgers affiliates and on-campus use.

Resources from the Rutgers Center for Social Justice Education and LGBT Communities

The Center for Social Justice and LGBT Communities supports the Rutgers trans, gender non-conforming, and gender questioning community of students, faculty and staff. Its mission is to provide services and programs to make a difference. Their Website includes the following links and a map of all-gender bathrooms on campus. 

Online Trans Resources has a listing of advocacy organizations on/off campus.

Campus Trans Health Services lists the health services available for trans students at Rutgers.

LGBTQA Student Clubs and Organizations lists Rutgers student groups and organizations, including Transmissions and much more.

NJ, NYC and Metro Area Resources has names of groups and organizations active on trans issues in this area.

Transgender History at Rutgers provides a short history since the Homophile League established by Lionel Cuffie in 1969.

 

LGBTQ Inclusive Teaching Resources

Resources and Oral History Collections in NY/NJ area

The Pride Center of New Jersey provides comprehensive programming which fosters the health and well-being of the LGBTQ+ community through education and outreach.

PFLAG is an advocacy organization working on raising the visibility of LGBTQ youth in schools and communities. 

HiTOPS based in Princeton, NJ is a non-profit organization that fosters strong and healthy young people of all identities by providing inclusive and youth-informed sex education and LGBTQ+ support for young people throughout New Jersey.

The Rutgers Oral History Archives in collaboration with the Pride Center of New Jersey is conducting interviews with members of transgender community. If you wish to do an interview, or to receive more information, please contact Molly Graham (mgraham@history.rutgers.edu).

Queer Newark Oral History Project documents queer and LGBTQ culture in Newark, NJ. The pdf files of transcriipts are available to download. 

NYC Trans Oral History Project is a collective and community archive that document transgender resistance and resilience in NYC. It is a component of the NYPL Community Oral History Project. 

Transgender Resources created by Jackie Baras, RWJUH LGBT Navigator, offers names of expert health care specialists and services for transgender patients. 

Archives & Websites

The Digital Transgender Archive increases accessibility of transgender history and provides an online hub for digitized historical materials, born digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.   

The Pride Study, a project originally based at UCSF is on the move to Stanford University. Resources are not available at the moment. 

National Center for Transgender EqualityThis national social justice organization provides advocacy and education on national issues of importance to transgender people.  This site provides links to a wealth of information about policies, statistics, and issues such as aging, discrimination, immigration, and healthcare. The Center commissioned the 2015 U.S. Transgender Survey. 

Ackerman Institute and the Gender & Family Project based in NYC offers therapy programs for families raising gender non-conforming children. Search for "transgender." 

The Fenway Institute: National LGBT Health Education Center offers educational programs, resources, and consultation to health care organizations.

The LGBTQ+ Comprehensive Health & Well-being Guide (Drug Watch)  illuminates unique and complex health needs of LGBTQ+ community. 

The Movement Advancement Project is an independent think tank that provides research and analysis focused on policy, advocacy organizations, and messaging that educates policymakers, the media, and the public about the LGBT movement.

The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is "committed to the preservation of the history of pioneer activists, community leaders, and researchers who have  contributed to the betterment of trans, non-binary and Two-spirited people. "

Podcasts

Blog: Transgender Media Relations

Emma Fletcher created the Transgender Media Relations blog as her project for the Women and Media capstone course at Rutgers in spring '18.  It includes posts from non-binary students at Rutgers and local trans/non-binary community. 

Historical Archives & Digital Exhbitions

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.