Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Race, Labor, and Capitalism in the Americas: Finding Archival Collections

Digital Archives

Bracero History Archive
"The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America."

Chew Heong v. United States: Chinese Exclusion and the Federal Courts
In addition to documents, the site includes historical background, chronology, arguments, and a bibliography.

Farmworker Movement Documentation Project: Cesar Chavez, The Farmworker Movement: 1962-1993
"The project seeks to compile and publish primary source accounts from the volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement during the period, 1962-1993."

Walter P. Reuther Library: Exhibits
Online exhibits from the Reuther Library of Labor and Urban Affairs at Wayne State University.

The Internet Archive

The Internet Archive

In addition to some some 3 million public domain books, the Internet Archive also archives websites, software, games, music, and a variety of moving images.

Digital Schomburg

Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
Search or browse a rich collection of images taken from the collections of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library.

American Memory

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched. Additional list of collections.

Archival Databases/Guides

Labor Archives in the United States and Canada
Directory from the Labor Archives Section of the Society of American Archivists.
ArchiveGrid
Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids. Rutgers-restricted Access
 
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
The most comprehensive source for English language material printed in the 19th Century. Includes bibliographic access to 71,000 archival collections. Rutgers-restricted Access
Worldcat
Union catalog of over 179 million bibliographic records for titles owned by libraries that participate in/contribute to OCLC. As part of "Advanced Search" allows you to limit your search to "archival materials". (Rutgers-restricted Access)
New Jersey Historical Society.
The New Jersey Historical Society in Newark has a rich collection of archival and other materials relating to the political, social, cultural and economic history of New Jersey. You can search or browse the Finding Aids to NJHS collections.
Princeton University Findings Aids
Over 1700 finding aids from the Princeton Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections includes the Manuscripts Division (housed at Firestone Library) and the Princeton University Archives and Public Policy Papers (housed at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library).
Manuscript Collections in the Rutgers University Libraries
Finding Aids to a variety of collections, including the Papers of Ernest Thompson, a union official who helped found the National Negro Labor Council. The collection also includes the International Union of Electronic, Electrical, Salaried, Machine & Furniture Workers, AFL-CIO (IUE) Archives
New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts Catalog
Search the Archives and Manuscripts collections included in the New York Public Library catalog. To search the full text of archival collections descriptions search AMAT, the Archival Materials Access Tool.
Archival Finding Aids Hosted at New York University
Search across finding aids for collections in the Fales Library & Special Collections (NYU); the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives; New York University Archives; and the New York Historical Society.
Columbia University Archival Collections Portal
Descriptions and finding aids for more than 3,500 archival collections in six Columbia University Libraries repositories. These collections include personal papers, institutional records, corporate archives, architectural drawings, printed ephemera, and many other types of content.

Focusing on Newark

The Newark Archives Project
The Newark Archives Project is creating detailed descriptions of primary materials relating to Newark that are available in repositories in Newark and elsewhere. The collections described include papers of individuals and families; records of government agencies, organizations, and businesses; photographs and film; audio collections; and more. A wonderful, and growing, resource for finding archival materials on Newark!
The Krueger-Scott Oral History Collection
Audio files of over 100 interviews with African American Newarkers who had migrated to the city between 1910-1970, as well as those whose local roots spanned generations. Interviews were conducted in 1995-1999 as a project of the Krueger-Scott Cultural Center.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.