Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

"Luke Cage" Guide to Black American Culture

Reading lists and music used and referenced in the Netflix superhero series, "Luke Cage."

Music and music artists featured in "Luke Cage"

Season 1, Episode 1 Music Selections

Ernie Vincent Presents: The Kollab Collection (takes you to Amazon.com)

Album contains the song, "Dap Walk."

Coleman Hawkins, Hawk Flies High 

Album contains the song, "Think Deep." Available for listening at the Institute of Jazz Studies on the Rutgers-Newark campus.

 

Season 1, Episode 2 Music Selections

Miles Davis, Bags' Groove

Album contains the song, "Doxy," composed by Sonny Rollins.

A Decade of Jazz, vol. III (1959-1969)

Album contains the D. Pearson version of Donald Byrd's "Cristo Redentor." 

Faith Evans, The First Lady (takes you to Amazon.com)

Album contains the song, "Mesmerized."

There is also a version from the Luke Cage soundtrack (takes you to Amazon.com)

Season 1, Episode 3 Music Selections

Bradley Charles Changes/Ain't It a Sin 7" single

Ghostface Killah and Adrian Younge, Twelve Reasons to Die (takes you to Amazon.com)

Album contains the song, "Enemies All Around Me," featuring William Hart

Wu-Tang Clan, Enter the Wu Tang

Album contains the song, "Bring Da Ruckus" 

Season 1, Episode 4 Music Selections

"Feel Alive" by Ali Shaheed Muhammad from the album, Linear Labs: Los Angeles. (takes you to the Linear Labs web site)

Season 1, Episode 5 Music Selections

French multimedia artist, The Avener, remixes John Lee Hooker's "It Serves You Right to Suffer," on his album, The Wanderings of the Avener.

(Takes you to the The Avener's web site)

Lee Williams and the Cymbals, "It's Everything About You that I Love" 7" single (takes you to YouTube)

Mahalia Jackson, "The Trouble of the World" 7"single released in 1959. (takes you to YouTube)

 

Jidenna, "Long Live the Chief"

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.