Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Research Resources to Support the Teaching of English as a Foreign Language: Professional Development

This guide was prepared for the Rutgers China Office professional development program for teachers of high school English in China, Summer 2016.

Streaming Videos

VAST: Academic Videos Online (Rutgers Restricted)

This collection of online streaming videos includes a number of pedagogy and case study videos in education, including ESL. All videos are accompanied by a transcript, making them particularly useful for teaching English.

Shaping the Way We Teach English (Free videos from University of Oregon)

"Shaping the Way We Teach English is a video-based training product for English language educators. It has 14 modules (topics). The videos showcase classroom scenes from around the world and have an accompanying training manual plus additional readings."

VAULT (University of Michigan)

"VAULTT is a collection of original videos highlighting various aspects of language teaching in the classroom. Each short video is accompanied by supplementary information (in a PDF) explaining the techniques and relating them to best practices in language teaching. "

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier

  • A large general database that includes many education journals. Most articles are available in pdf.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

  • Highly focused education database that includes hard to find white papers and other reports in additionn to scholarly literature.

ProQuest Education Journals

  • Education-related journals all available for immediate download in pdf format.

Teacher Reference Center

  • Highly focused database including over 250 education journals.

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Finding Ebooks

EBSCO EBooks (Rutgers Restricted)

Large collection of multi-disciplinary ebooks available to read online or download.

Infosci Books (Rutgers Restricted)

This collection is focused on the use of technology, and can be useful for identifying dealing with the use of technology in education. Select "Teaching Cases" or "Educational IS&T" on the righthand menu to limit to education ebooks. Includes books and chapters such as

Handbook of Research on E-Learning Methodologies for Language Acquisition

Handbook of Research on Computer-Enhanced Language Acquisition and Learning

Computer-Assisted Language Learning in East Asia

User-Centered Computer Aided Language Learning

Speaking of Technology: Teaching English Language Learners in CTE Programs

 

SAGE Reference

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook

Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education

 

Ebook Collections Research Guide by Stephanie Bartz

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.