Skip to Main Content
Rutgers University Library logo

History of Modern Latin America

The News: Today and Yesterday

Today's News

The New York Times
Create a personal account for full access to NYTimes.com and The New York Times app through the Rutgers Libraries. Rutgers-restricted Access
The Wall Street Journal
Create a personal account for full access to the daily Wall Street Journal through the Rutgers Libraries. Rutgers-restricted Access

Contemporary Accounts

Access World News
Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Rutgers-restricted Access
Westlaw Campus Research
"News" portion indexes the full text of many newspapers. Rutgers-restricted Access
Factiva
A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers, including the New York Times, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Historical Accounts

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search
Search across the six ProQuest historical newspapers that the Libraries subscribe to: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Philadelphia Inquirer (November 7, 1860 – December 31, 2001), the Pittsburgh Gazette (August 29, 1786 – December 31, 2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), the Washington Post (1877-2005); the Camden Courier Post (1950- ) and the New Jersey Collection (1876- ). Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 2005. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Latin American and Caribbean Newspapers

Latin American Newspapers
The Latin American Newspaper collection contains scanned images of historical newspapers from North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The entire database may be searched at once, or can be browsed by country, time period, language or newspaper title. 1800-1922. Rutgers-restricted Access
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
International News Archives on the Web: Latin America
Selective coverage of papers with searchable archives.