Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Library Research Guide for Sociology Graduate Students: Find Articles

Welcome! You will find tips and other helpful hints for your sociological research journey here.

QuickSearch - www.libraries.rutgers.edu

Use QuickSearch to search for books, articles, journals, video, audio, and more.

QuickSearch Tutorials

Already have the Citation?

Just need the full-text of a specific article you are looking for?

How do I get my article?
Locate an article you have identified.
How do I know if RU has a particular journal?
Once you know where an article was published, use these step-by-step instructions to find out if Rutgers has access to that particular journal via RU Library Catalog.
 
Still no luck? Contact me or any librarian

(a) How do I request an article?

Indexes and Databases: ** Multidisciplinary **

The following multidisciplinary indexes cover popular and scholarly articles in a range of subject areas.  Use the option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

QuickSearch

Use QuickSearch to find materials available from the Rutgers Libraries, including books, journals, articles, music, movies, and more.

Academic Search Premier

A multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.

Web of Science (Arts, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences)

Indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, reports, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Getting to the Article

We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. In certain databases, full text is available via PDF or HTML links. However, in most of our databases you will need to select the button.  This is a program overlaid on our databases that tries to match the citation to the RUL holdings.

  • Ideally, when you the select thebutton, you will see a link to full text.
  • If you do not see a link to full text, click the “Search the library catalog by Periodical Title (or ISSN)” link which will take you to the record in the Library Catalog for the journal title if available in the Rutgers libraries. The Library Catalog record will note the availability of the journal online  under Holdings.   The Library Catalog also indicates whether the library system owns the periodical in paper or in other formats.  
  • If Rutgers University Libraries has the article but not electronically, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Article Delivery link in the Library Catalog record.
  •  If Rutgers University Libraries does not have the article at all, you can request a copy through our  Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Service.  Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. Except in very rare cases, there is no cost, and we will never pass on a cost without your prior approval. The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days. 

About Me

Triveni Kuchi's picture
Triveni Kuchi
Contact:
Librarian for Sociology, Criminal Justice, Cinema, South Asian, and Middle Eastern Studies
New Brunswick Libraries,
Rutgers University - New Brunswick,
Carr Library, 75 Avenue E, Piscataway, NJ-08854
848-445-5733

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.