Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Major Indexes for Art Research
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database with large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals that offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
The links on this page go to databases that contain information about art history.
Full-text and citation information to a wide range of arts and humanities periodicals.
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Comprehensive listing of articles on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Includes scholarly and popular periodical literature as well as publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and major European, Asian, Latin American, and Australian serials.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present.
Broad, multidisciplinary search with more scholarly results than a regular Google search.
Additional Indexes for Art Research
The following databases may be of interest to researchers in art
history. Most are interdisciplinary and some offer
more focused cultural insights on particular topics in the visual arts.