Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Race in Latin American Literature and Film: Countries and Cultures

World Cultures

Levinson, David, ed. Encyclopedia of World Cultures. 10 vols. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1991-1996.
Each volume is devoted to a geographic area and includes a cultural map for that area. There is an entry for each cultural group including information on location, linguistic affiliation, history and cultural relations, settlements, economy, kinship, marriage and family, sociopolitical organization, religion and expressive culture, as well as a list of publications about both the traditional and current culture. Vol.7: South America; Vol.8: Middle America and the Caribbean Available?

Cultural/Ethnic Groups

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Daniel Balderston, Mike Gonzalez and Ana M. Lpez, editors. New York, Routledge, 2000. 3 volumes. Available
Afro-Latin America, 1800-2000
George Reid Andrews. New York, Oxford University Press, 2004.
Issues faced by Afro-Latin Americans in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes discussion of Afro-Latin Americans in Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Costa Rica, Colombia, the Donimican Republic, Haiti, Mexico, Panama, Puerto Rico, and Uruguay.
Indigenous Peoples, Democracy and Political Participation
Part of Georgetown University's Political Database of the Americas. Includes sections on Demographic Trends; Constitutional Rights, Legislation, and Agreements; Political Representation of Indigenous Peoples; State Agencies for Indigenous Afffairs; Non-Governmental Organizations dealing with Indigenous Peoples; and Reference Materials.

Country Information

Business Source Premier, the major database for business literature, includes extensive reports on countries produced by CountryWatch Inc. To find reports enter the name of the country in the first search box and select "Subject" from the pull-down menu. In the next search box, enter "countrywatch."
Country Studies
Online versions of the Country Studies/Area Handbooks series published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. A basic resource for an overview of a particular country. These are updated by Country Profiles.
Background Notes
Information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.