Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rutgers University Library EBM Resources
(Emergency Department, Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK)
BETs were developed to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. They take into account the shortcomings of much current evidence. Although BETs initially had an emergency medicine focus, there are a significant number of BETs covering cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics..
The U.S. National Institutes of Health, through its National Library of Medicine, has developed ClinicalTrials.gov to provide patients, family members and members of the public current information about clinical research studies.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials ( (CENTRAL))
Bibliographic database of definitive controlled healthcare trials identified by the Cochrane Collaboration. CENTRAL contains over 300,000 bibliographic references.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Includes full text of the systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration.
The Cochrane Library includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, methods studies, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. Cochrane reviews are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care. The default in this resource is to search the entire Cochrane Library. To search individual databases within the Cochrane Library, users should click on the Advanced Search located in the upper right corner of the resource’s Home page. Additionally, users will find links to each specific database under the “Browse” section on the Home page of the Cochrane Library.
Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
The CMR is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings; these articles are derived from both MEDLINE database and hand searches of the literature. These studies of methods used in reviews and in more general methodological studies could be relevant to anyone preparing a systematic review. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published, and some summaries of articles; there are no full text links.The CMR was produced by the Cochrane UK, until 31st May 2012. There are currently no plans to reinstate the CMR and it is not receiving updates.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
DARE is a database containing full-text critical assessments of systematic review articles from a variety of medical journals.
DynaMed (Dynamic Medical Information Systems LLC)
A "Just-In-Time" Internet reference integrating evidence based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics.
Medscape presents a collection of monographs that cover 65 professional specialties and three consumer areas, complete with full streaming video, audio, and color images suitable for clinical and teaching purposes. It contains a section of Tools, interactive algorithms, calculators, decision rules, diagrams, scores, and tables. For users who want information via their PDA, eMedicine has downloadable content for PalmOS, Windows CE, PocketPC, Psion, and Franklin eBookMan.
Essential Evidence Plus (formerly InfoRetriever)
A source of evidence-based information for clinicians. It includes: a POEMS (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) library, Cochrane Database abstracts, collections of clinical decision rules, diagnostic tests, history and physical exam maneuvers, and drug information, as well as ICD9 and E/M coding assistants. Content is downloadable for use with PocketPC and PalmOS handheld devices. Selected Essential Evidence Plus search functions qualify for CME credit. You can also listen to POEM of the Week Podcast to get an in-depth audio discussion of a recent POEM.
FPIN Clinical Inquiries
FPIN provides quality education and professional development for primary care clinicians to practice evidence-based medicine and produce scholarship.
Contains evidence summaries.
JAMAevidence provides guides to the systematic consideration of validity, importance, and applicability of problems and outcomes in health care. It consists of three textbooks, user tools, and forms useful to the critical appraisal process.
Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of the biomedical literature. Includes some full-text.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
RBHS Electronic Textbooks
This provides a link to all electronic textbooks licensed by RBHS from various sources. Books are listed by author, title, and subject. This is a useful place to look for answers to background questions.
Another evidence-based medicine database, SUMSearch selects the best resources for your question, formats your question for each resource, and makes additional searches based on results. Available in English, French, and Spanish. Produced by the University of Texas.
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in disease prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice Database
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is published by the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). The Institute is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information from across the globe, as well as the tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program and provide the best possible patient care.