Evidence-Based Dentistry

SUMSearch selects the best resources for your question, formats it for each resources, and makes additional searches based on results. Available in English, French, and Spanish language versions. Produced by the Kansas University Medical Center.

TRIP is a free resource which requires registration to use. It is a clinical resource, available in multiple languages. The database formats your question for searching against a number of databases, simultaneously

Contains links to scientific information, such as systematic reviews and summaries, as well as clinical recommendations.

The Cochrane Library includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, methods studies, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. Cochrane reviews are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care. The default in this resources is to search the entire Cochrane Library. To search individual databases within it, users should click on “Advanced Search,” located in the upper left corner of the resource’s Home page. Additionally, users will find links to each specific database under the “Browse” section of the Home page

In order to assist health professionals in the practice of evidence-based health care, JAMAevidence provides guides to the systematic consideration of validity, importance, and applicability of problems and outcomes in health care. It consists of textbooks, user tools, and forms useful to the critical appraisal process.

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is published by the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). The Institute is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information from across the globe, as well as the tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program and provide the best possible patient care.

This is essentially PubMed with a different search engine; it provides access to the same journal information.

PubMed, produced by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 21 million citations to journal articles in the biomedical literature. Links to many full-text articles are available. PubMed also contains a “Clinical Queries” feature which allows users to perform searches for specific study types or systematic reviews with ease. A mobile version of the product is also available, http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/. PubMed on Tap, http://www.referencesontap.com/, is located at the App Store.

This resource includes citations from the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index. It gives users the unique ability to track who is citing a specific author by performing a cited reference search.