Modern European Art

How to Use the Art Full Text database:

To get started:

1) You will be taken to Wilson Web's Advanced Search Screen. In the bottom right-hand corner is a box marked "Subject Area". In this box, highlight Art (ART).

2) Perhaps the simplest way to get started is to search by keyword(s). Enter keywords that describe your topic- these keywords are your search terms, for example, "Picasso and African art." Keep in mind that too many search terms may produce few or no results, while too few search terms may produce too many results. You may have to try a range of search terms before finding those that work best for you.

3) If you are in immediate need of articles available online in full text, you can check the box marked "Limit to: Full Text Articles". For more comprehensive results, don't check any of the delimiter boxes. If an article is not available in full text, it is easy to request the article through Rutgers Article Delivery Service or interlibrary loan. See below for more details.

4) Search Results are returned in the following format:
Author. Article Title. Volume, issue. (Date) pages

5) Click on the hyperlinked article title to view the abstract.

6) If full text is available, there will be an icon to view/print the article in PDF or HTML format.

7) Clicking on "Search for Article" begins a search in IRIS, the catalog of the Rutgers University Libraries, for the Periodical Title listed in the citation. This will take you to a Rutgers University Libraries page that lists search criteria and lists links to full text electronic access for the journal or article, if it is available.

8) To check for print holdings, click on "Search the Library's Catalog by ISSN." A full record for the source, including electronic and print holdings, will appear.

9) If the article is not available electronically but Rutgers holds it in print you may request free electronic delivery of the article through Rutgers Article Delivery Services. If "Sorry, no holdings were found for this journal" appears, you may wish to consider ordering an interlibrary loan for the resource.

10) To send yourself citations from Art Full Text, place a check in the box to the left of the article list. Then, on the top menu bar, click "Print, Email, Save". On the next screen there will be a tabbed bar with the options "Print, Email, Save, Exporting" Click on the tab marked "Email" Enter your email address, fill in the subject line, click email and the citations and full text (if available) will be sent to you.

I'm here to answer your questions. Please feel free to contact me, Sara Harrington, Art Librarian, at saraharr@rci.rutgers.edu or 732/932-7739

How to use the ARTbibliographies Modern Index:

To get started:

1) A quick search screen will appear. Perhaps the simplest way to get started is to search by keyword(s). Enter keywords that describe your topic- these keywords are your search terms, for example, "Picasso and African art." Keep in mind that too many search terms may produce few or no results, while too few search terms may produce too many results. You may have to try a range of search terms before finding those that work best for you.

2) Search results are returned in the following format:
"Article Title."
Author
Periodical Title, Volume/Issue, Date, Pages
Article Abstract

3) Beneath the Article Abstract, you will see "View Record," and "Search for Article." Click on "View Record" to see a complete citation for the article, including a full abstract.

4) Clicking on "Search for Article" begins a search in IRIS, the catalog of the Rutgers University Libraries, for the Periodical Title listed in the citation. This will take you to a Rutgers University Libraries page that lists search criteria and lists links to full- text electronic access for the journal or article, if it is available.

5) To check for print holdings, click on "Search the Library's Catalog by ISSN." A full record for the source, including electronic and print holdings, will appear.

6) If the article is not available electronically but Rutgers holds it in print you may request free electronic delivery of the article through Rutgers Article Delivery Services. If "Sorry, no holdings were found for this journal" appears, you may wish to consider ordering an interlibrary loan for the resource.

7) To send yourself citations from ARTBibliographies Modern, place a check in the box that says "mark" next to the results of interest to you. Then, on the next screen, under "Save, Print, Email," enter your email address, and click "Email." Citation results will be sent to you.

8) I'm here to answer your questions. Please feel free to contact me, Sara Harrington, Art Librarian, at saraharr@rci.rutgers.edu or 732/932-7739

How to Use the Bibliography of the History of Art

To get started:

1) The search screen will appear. Make sure "BibHisArt" is chosen in the "Search in Database" dropdown menu. There are three primary ways to search this in "Basic Search" - by Keyword, Author, or Title Word.

2) Perhaps the simplest way to get started is to search by keyword.In order to search by keyword, develop a few keyword and keyword combinations that describe your topic. Enter your keywords or keyword combinations (using the word "and" between terms.)

3) A list of records for your search will appear with title highlighted, followed by author, source, document name, database, and a link for locating more details.

4) Click on the title to view the detailed record including the "Search for Article link," database name, author/title or periodical title, date, volume/issue, pages, and descriptors.

5) Click on a checkbox to mark a record to be e-mailed or printed in Marked Records.

6) Once in the record, clicking on "Search for Article" will locate the article or journal if it is available in the Rutgers University Libraries. Please note that the Libraries hold periodical descriptions in both electronic and paper formats.

7) If the article is not available electronically but Rutgers holds it in print you may request free electronic delivery of the article through Rutgers Article Delivery Services. If "Sorry, no holdings were found for this journal" appears, you may wish to consider ordering an interlibrary loan for the resource.

8) If you have questions or problems, please feel free to contact Sara Harrington for assistance at saraharr@rci.rutgers.edu or 732/932-7739