Skip to main content
Want to Know What Else We Have?
Some relevant subject searches that you can do in the Catalog include:
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 African Americans
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Conscientious Objectors
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Draft resisters
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Fiction
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Influence Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Literature and the Conflict
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Literature and the War
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Mass media and the War
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Personal narratives
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Public Opinion
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 United States
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Veterans
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Women
The Vietnam War
- Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
- Spencer C. Tucker, editor. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-CLIO, 1998.
- More than 900 signed entries, most with brief bibliographies. Considers all aspects of the war in historical context, including Vietnam-related literature and film. Extensive collection of historical documents (1920-1995).
- Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
- Vietnam War Bibliography: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts, Americans, Especially Soldiers.
- Compiled by Dr. Edwin Moise (Clemson University). Print resources with online links when available.
Protesting the War
To find relevant books and other materials in the Library Catalog search the subject terms: Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Protest Movements
- Martin Luther King Jr.: "Why I Oppose the War in Vietnam"
- Speech delivered at New York City's Riverside Church on April 4th 1967.
- Campus Wars: The Peace Movement at American State Universities in the Vietnam Era
- Kenneth J. Heineman. New York, New York University Press, 1993.
- The history of protest movements at four state universities: Michigan State, Penn State, Kent State, and the State University of New York in Buffalo. Available?
- Winter Soldiers: An Oral History of the Vietnam Veterans Against the War.
- Richard Stacewicz. New York, Twayne Publishers, 1997. Available?
- Inventory to the Records of the Office of Public Information on the Vietnam War Teach-Ins, 1965-1966
- Background information and finding aid to a collection of correspondence, newspaper clippings, statements and reports related to the three Vietnam War teach-ins held at Rutgers during this period. Collected located in Special Collections and University Archives (Alexander Library) in New Brunswick.
- "Doves in a Hawk's Nest: Vietnam and the American Peace Movement: 1965-1975: Part 1"
- Vietnam Generation Journal 4 (3-4), November 1992.
- GIs United Against the War in Vietnam: Statement of Aims.
- What is the May 2nd Movement? September 1965.
- "The May 2nd Movement was formed to fight against a politics of default, specifically by organizing student protest and revolt against our government's savage war on the people of Vietnam."
- Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee: Position Paper On Vietnam
- Decade of Protest: Political Posters from the United States, Cuba, and Vietnam 1965-1975.
- Exhibit held at Track 16 Gallery, January 19-March 9, 1996.
The War in the Media
To find relevant books and other materials in the Library Catalog search the subject terms:
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
- Full-text coverage of more than 280 journals plus citation coverage for many more. Many major journals searchable back to early 1900s. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Government Information Plans and Policies. Part 4: Vietnam News Coverage:
- Hearings Before the United States House Committee on Government Operations, Subcommittee on Foreign Operations and Government Information, Eighty-Eighth Congress, First Session, on May 24, 1963.
- Washington, D.C., Government Printing Office, 1963. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Walter Cronkite: Changing Attitudes Toward War in Vietnam
- In an August 7, 2002 NPR broadcast, Cronkite recalls the gradual change in journalistic approach, and the public attitude, toward the Vietnam War in the 1960s.
- David Halberstam's Reporting from Vietnam
- Selected New York Times articles. David Halberstam shared the Puliter Prize in 1964 for his coverage of the Vietnam War.
- Reporting Vietnam: American Journalism, 1959-1975
- New York, Library of America, 2000. Available?
- Vietnam on Television
- David Hallin. Overview with bibliography. From the Museum of Broadcast Communications.
- Media and the Vietnam War: A Bibliography.
- From the Sixties Project.
Subjects:African American Studies
, American Studies
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies