Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Principles of Management (29:620:300): Starting Points

Online Encyclopedias

These Rutgers-restricted encyclopedias will provide basic definitions and overviews of management topics and concepts.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Covers "five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems."

Encyclopedia of Management
"Includes essays on 350 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals."

21st Century Management: A Reference Handbook
Highlights topics, issues, questions and debates relating to the field of management and provides "insight into the key issues covered in both undergraduate and corporate coursework."

Rutgers Online Databases

Business Source Premier covers all topics in business and human resource management. It contains citations, lengthy abstracts, and in most cases, the full-text of articles from 8,000 U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Browse the Conference Board Research Collection for full-text reports on management topics and strategic issues. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

PsycINFO is a subject and author index to all areas of psychology, including inter-personal and organizational behavior, applied psychology, and consumer and social issues. This online database corresponds to the APA's Psychological Abstracts. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Web Resources

For coverage of the not-for-profit sector, consult the Catalog of Nonprofit Literature maintained by the Foundation Center. This database includes both books and articles, and most entries are annotated.

Many practical management tips may be found on the Free Management Library of articles, blog posts, and links to selected websites.