Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Newark Public Library: Business Resources: Government Documents

Patents & Trademarks

The Newark Public Library is a designated US Patent and Trademark Depository Library. Full text of utility patents from 1790 to the present are available. Design patents from 1908 to the present are also available. The collection also includes plant patents, the Official Gazette, the weekly announcement of new patents and trademarks, and a core collection of reference materials provided by the Patent and Trademark Depository Library Program. Librarians assist searchers with the Classification and Search Support Information System database (CASSIS) on CD-ROMs and DVD-ROMs.

US Government Documents

As the Regional Depository for United States Government Publications, the Newark Public Library's collection of these materials now numbers well over two million items: reports, hearings, federal laws and regulations, Supreme Court decisions, treaties, and other popular and scholarly documents. The collection includes finding aids to this significant body of information. Records of items published since 1976 are in the Library's online catalog.

Publications and statistics of greatest relevance to business students and scholars include (but are not limited to) those published by the:

  • Department of Commerce, and its component agencies such as the Census Bureau, the Bureau of Economic Analysis, and the International Trade Administration
  • Department of Health & Human Services, particularly rulings from the Food and Drug Administration
  • Department of Labor, and especially its Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Employment and Training Administration
  • Department of State, with its coverage of nations around the world
  • Department of the Treasury
  • U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.