Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Research Theatre History in the Paul Robeson Library: Home

A short guide to resources for researching Theatre history within the Paul Robeson Library and the Rutgers University Libraries digital resources

Theatre History

 
 
 
Suggested Reference Sources:
Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Theater (online)
Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare's History Plays (online)
Cambridge Shakespeare Guide (online)
Cambridge Companion to Shakespearean Comedy (online)
Cambridge Companion to Theatre History (online)
A Companion to Renaissance Drama (online)
A Companion to Sophocles (online)
A Companion to Greek Tragedy (online)
A Guide to Ancient Greek Drama (online)
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre (online)
Cambridge History of British Theatre / REF PN 2581 C36 2006 (vol. 1 Origins to 1660 , vol. 21660-1895)
Cambridge Guide to Theatre / REF PN 2035 C27 1995
Oxford Companion to Theatre / REF PN 2035 O98 1983
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre REFPN 2035 C65 2002
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre PN 2189 W67
Oxford Companion to American Theatre REF PN 2220 B6 1984
Selected Theatre Criticism, 1900-1950 REF PN 2277 N5 S44 1985
 
Finding Books
Use QuickSearch and limit resource type to books.
 
Online Databases
MLA International Bibliography
Literature Resource Center
Literature Online (LION) (includes several reference books as well as primary documents and secondary scholarship)
Humanities Index Retrospective
Project Muse
L'Annee Philologique (Ancient Greece and Rome)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
(For further research you might also use the New York Times or American Periodicals database)
 
Full Text Resources
Literature Online (LION) -- contains the full text of selected plays
Early English Books Online (EEBO) -- full text of English language materials from 1473 to 1700
Black Drama:  1850 to the present -- contains the full text of 1,200 plays written by 201 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African disapora countries
QuickSearch will contain links to the full text of some plays, especially those from the 18th century and older.
 
 
 
 
 

Subject Guide

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.