Research Guides: Global Employment Relations: Research a Foreign Company

Research Guides

Strategic Corporate Research
This excellent website is by Tom Juravich, UMass Amherst, who has been teaching Internet skills for strategic corporate research for years. The site is more than pointers to websites, It introduces "a framework and a visual representation of the 24 areas where you should direct your research". There are sections for U.S. and Canadian publicly-traded, privately-held, non-profit and public sector company research.
CorpWatch Reports
CorpWatch: Non-profit investigative research and journalism to advocate for multinational corporate accountability and transparency.
How To Do Corporate Research Online (Corporate Research Project)
Research Guide for researchers and activists by Phil Mattera. Covers publicly held and private U.S. companies.
Company Research (RUL LibGuide)
This excellent guide by Rutgers business librarians Ka-Neng Au and Roberta Tipton offers links to many web sites, including state corporate databases. Some of the resources are for Rutgers affiliates only, but a surprising number are free or only require registration.

Check these databases for company financials, executives, annual reports, histories, and more.

Hoover's Company Records (Westlaw)
Available through the News section of the Westlaw database, Hoover Company Records provide basic company facts, names of executives and directors, and a Company Overview. It includes publicly traded companies, subsidiaries, nonprofits, and some large private companies. Rutgers Restricted Access
IBISWorld
IbisWorld provides reports for the 723 industries in the U.S. Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, emerging industry trends, recent production performance and 5 year forecasts The Rutgers subscription does not include global industry reports but does include reports on more than 8,000 public companies from around the world. Rutgers Restricted Access
MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor 360)
Start with MarketLine for company profiles, SWOT analyses, financial deals, and market share. Rutgers Restricted Access
Mergent Horizon
Find information on a company's competitors, suppliers, partners, and corporate customers, using a detailed hierarchical classification system for actual products and services. Rutgers Restricted Access
Mergent Online
Mergent Online is a database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Information available for each company includes corporate history, lists of subsidiaries, SEC filings, etc. Rutgers Restricted Access

Company research resources freely available over the Web.

globalEdge Company Directories
Listings by country of country-specific directories. Most of these are directories of exporting or industrial companies and products.

Asia & Australasia

Current filings for firms listed on the Bombay Stock Exchange and the National Stock Exchange are on the Corporate Filing & Dissemination System. Older filings are at EDIFAR: Electronic Data Information Filing And Retrieval System (Indian EDGAR; discontinued as of April 2010).

Laporan Keuangan & Tahunan (annual and financial reports: Jakarta Stock Exchange)

SEC i-View (Securities and Exchange Commission, Republic of the Philippines: fee-based)

SSM e-Info (Suruhanjaya Syarikat Malaysia - Companies Commission of Malaysia: fee-based)

Europe

CNMV Companies Search (Spain)

Companies House (United Kingdom: fee-based)

Companies House (United Kingdom: free - in beta service)

The FFMS Russian Disclosure Program has been assigned to several private firms:

registroimprese.it (Italy: fee-based)

Unternehmensregister (Germany: fee-based)

For other countries, start with the European Business Register and select a suitable Information Distributor supporting your language of choice.

The Americas

Many other sources have been compiled by Karen Blakeman for Official Company Registers.