Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Finance: Other Resources

Resource Guides

Start with the WWW Virtual Finance Library (Ohio State University). Other useful sites include:

Guide to Economic Indicators. Norman Frumkin. M.E.Sharpe, 2006.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA REF HC 103 .F9

Guide to Economic Indicators: Making Sense of Economics. The Economist. Bloomberg Press, 2007.
DANA REF HA 29 .E28

Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators. Frederick M. O'Hara, Jr. and Frederick M. O'Hara, III. Greenwood Press, 2000.
ALEXANDER REF HC 106.8 .O47

The International Financial Statistics Locator: A Research and Information Guide. Domenica M. Barbuto. Garland Publishing, 1995.
ALEXANDER DOCREF HG 151.7 .B37, DANA, CARR HG 151.7 .B37

Investment Statistics Locator. Linda Holman Bentley and Jennifer J. Kiesl. Oryx Press, 1995.
DANA, CARR HG 4910 .B46

Trader's Guide to Key Economic Indicators. Richard Yamarone. Bloomberg Press, 2004.
DANA REF, CARR HC 106.83 .Y35

Data Sources

The Global Financial Database (Rutgers-restricted Access) is the most complete collection of historical and current financial and economic data available in the world. Covering more than 150 different countries, it provides over 6500 different data series (including interest rates, exchange rates, and price indices) that you can immediately download directly from the web site.

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides direct access to the IMF’s major data and statistical tools such as International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payment Statistics (BOP), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS). (Rutgers-restricted access)

Other useful sites include:

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Rutgers Restricted)
Covers "five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs from around the United States." Electronic version of the 2 volume 2nd edition of the print resource.

Banking Dictionary (International Term Deposit Rates Exchange)

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Finance. Douglas Wood and Dean Paxson, eds. Blackwell, 1997.
ALEXANDER REF HG 151 .B49

Commodities Terms and Definitions

Dictionary of Banking and Finance. Peter Collin. Collin, 1999.
ALEXANDER, CARR REF HG 151 .C655

Dictionary of Finance and Banking. Brian Butler, David Butler, and Alan Isaacs, eds. Oxford University Press, 1997.
DANA STACKS, CARR REF HG 151 .D54

Dictionary of Financial Abbreviations. John Paxton. Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003.
DANA REF HG 151.3 .P39

Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance. Charles Woedlfel. Probus, 1994.
ALEXANDER, DANA, CARR REF HG 151 .E63

Finance Glossary (Finance Globe)

Financial Dictionary

Guide to Futures and Options Market Terminology

Hypertextual Finance Glossary (Campbell R. Harvey) Also hosted by the New York Times as Glossary of Financial and Business Terms.

International Dictionary of Banking and Finance. John Clark. American Management Association, 1999.
ALEXANDER REF HG 151 .C53

International Dictionary of Finance. Graham Bannock and William Manser. Wiley, 2000.
CARR REF HG 151 .B274

InvestorWords

Mutual Fund Terms

New Palgrave Dictionary of Money and Finance. 3 vols. Peter Newman, Murray Milgate, and John Eatwell, eds. Macmillan, 1992.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, CARR REF HG 151 .N48

UBS Dictionary of Banking

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.