Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Camden and South Jersey Newspapers

The library has a long series of Camden newspapers on microfilm, though the title changes frequently

Camden Newspapers

 

 

The following holdings records are approximate and not complete; complete holdings with cross references and gaps are listed on the catalog record.

 

CAMDEN NEWSPAPERS ONLINE

 

Courier Post 1950 - recent year (a month or less lag time in being added to the database)

Courier Post 2011-present (a few months lag time in being added to the database, in ProQuest Recent Newspapers database)

Evening Telegram 1887-1888 (Chronicling America database)

Voice of Labor 1915-1917 (Chronicling America database)

 

 SOUTH JERSEY NEWSPAPERS ONLINE

 

(Absecon) Atlantic Democrat and Cape May Register 1863-1865 (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Absecon) South Jersey Republican 1863-1865 (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Bridgeton) Bridgeton Pioneer 1884-1917 (Chronicling America database)

(Bridgeton) West-Jersey Pioneer 1851-1884 (Chronicling America database)

(Bridgeton) Washington Whig 1821-1834 (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Egg Harbor City) Atlantic Democrat 1861-1862 (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Egg Harbor City) Beobachter Am Egg Harbor Review 1858-1858 [German] (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Egg Harbor City) Der Zeigeist 1867-1872 [German and English] (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Egg Harbor City) Egg Harbor Aurora 1860- 1860 [German] (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Egg Harbor City) Egg Harbor Beobachter 1859-1859 [German] (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Egg Harbor City) Egg Harbor Pilot 1860-1872 [German and English] (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Egg Harbor City) Pilot 1858-1859 [German and English] (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Egg Harbor City) Wochentliche Anzeiger 1859 - 1859 [German] (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Elwood) Atlantic Democrat and Cape May Journal 1862-1863 (American's Historical Newspapers database)

(May's Landing)  Atlantic Journal 1859-1862 (America's Historical Newspapers database)

(Mount Holly) Mount Holly News 1891-1919 (Chronicling America database)

(Mount Holly) News 1882-1886 (Chronicling America database)

(Mount Holly) Semi-Weekly News 1881-1882 (Chronicling America database)

(Penn's Grove) Penn's Grove Record 1882-1923 (Chronicling America database)

(Pleasantville) Pleasantville Press 1912-1924 (Chronicling America database)

(Pleasantville) Pleasantville Weekly Press 1892-1911 (Chronicling America database)

(Pleasantville) Press of Atlantic City 2010-2014 (Newspaper Source Plus database)

(Salem) Salem Messenger and Public Advertiser 1819-1832 (America's Historical Newspapers database)

 (Wildwood) Five Mile Beach Journal 1898-906 (Chronicling America database)

(Wildwood) Five Mile Beach Weekly Journal 1906-1923 (Chronicling America database)

(Woodbury) Gloucester County Democrat 1878-1912 (Chronicling America database)

The Access World News database includes over 180 New Jersey news sources, some from South Jersey, most start coverage in the late 1990's or early 2000's.

 

 

 

 

CAMDEN NEWSPAPERS IN MICROFILM
 
Courier Series:

 

Camden County Courier (weekly version of Camden Daily Courier), 1880-1893.

Camden Daily Courier, 1909-1915. (1882-1925 available at the Camden Public Library and The Camden County Historical Society).

Camden Courier, 1925-1926.

Evening Courier, 1926-1949.

Courier-Post, 1949+

 

 Post Series:

Camden Daily Post, 1876-1881.

Camden Post, 1881-1883 (Filed under Camden Daily Post).

The Post, 1883-1890.

Camden Post Telegram, 1899-1925.

Morning Post, 1926 (1926 filed under Morning Post Telegram), 1945-1949. *

Courier-Post, 1949- .

West Jersey Series:

 

Camden Mail & New Jersey Advertiser, 1834-1835.

Camden Mail & General Advertiser, 1835-1845. (filed with above)

West Jersey Mail, 1845-1847.

West Jerseyman, 1847-1859.

West Jersey Press, 1861-1940.

 

 OTHER CAMDEN NEWSPAPERS

 

(In chronological order)

 

Camden Democrat, 1859-1908.

Evening Telegram, 1887-1888.

Camden Daily Telegram, 1888-1899.

Review (Camden), 1899-1902.

Camden Times, 1915-1961.

Voice of Labor, 1915-1917.

New Jersey Leader, 1920 (filed with Voice of Labor).

Shipyard Worker / Industrial Union Reporter / Shipbuilder, 1941 - 1968.

Gleaner, 1951-1976, Rutgers Gleaner, 1976+ . Camden College of Arts and Sciences student newspaper. (filed under Rutgers Gleaner).

 

 

SOUTH JERSEY NEWSPAPERS 

 

(Bridgeton) East-Jersey Republican, 1816 (filed with Washington Whig).

(Bridgeton) Washington Whig, 1815-1820.

(Burlington/Trenton) New Jersey Gazette, 1777-1786.

Burlington Mirror, 1818-1819.

New Jersey Mirror and Burlington County Advertiser, 1819-1872.

(Mount Holly) New Jersey Mirror, 1872-1947.

(Woodbury) Columbian Herald, 1819-1820 (filed under Herald & Gloucester Farmer).

(Woodbury) Herald and Gloucester Farmer, 1820-1822.

(Woodbury) Village Herald and Weekly Advertiser, 1824-1829.

(Woodbury) Constitution and Farmers' and Mechanics Advertiser, 1834-1945.

(Woodbury) Gloucester County Democrat, 1878-1932.

(Woodbury) Evening News and Gloucester County Democrat, 1933-1938.

 

 

 

 

 
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.