Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles in Online Indexes and Databases
The following online indexes and databases can be searched to find articles:
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed for academic institutions. Useful when the researcher is targeting academic studies from the most important peer-reviewed journals.
America: History and Life
Covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Over 1,700 journal titles are scanned for relevant articles and book/media reviews of special interest to historians of U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. It provides strong English-language journal coverage balanced by an international perspective on topics and events.
Black Thought and Culture
Offers the full text of non-fiction writing by leading figures in African American life and culture, including Frederick Douglas, W.E.B. Du Bois, Ida Wells, A. Phillip Randolph, Martin Luther King, Jr., Jesse Jackson and hundreds of others.
Contemporary Women's Issues
"The Contemporary Women's Issues database provides full-text access to global information on women in over 190 countries, bringing together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press...Topics include human rights; violence and exploitation; education; workplace; family life; legal status; health; reproductive rights; gender equity; and lesbian concerns, among others. "
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage from 1990.
"GenderWatch provides access to citations and full text resources on the topics of women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) issues. The collection documents perspectives dating from 1970 to the present, and includes 292 titles, with more than 258 in full-text. [...]Prominent topics include sexuality, religion, social roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace."
This index on leftist and radical media contains citations, abstracts and selected text from journal and magazine articles, newsletters, selected books, and Internet documents. The emphasis is on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia: the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, law, and globalization.
PsycINFO (including PsycARTICLES)
"PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. "
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.
Women and Social Movements in the United States
This database seeks to document women's activism in public life by bringing together books, images, documents (including primary documents), scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, and links to other websites.
Women and Social Movements, International
A collection of primary source materials drawn from more than 300 repositories, co-published by the Center for the Historical Study of Women and Gender at SUNY, Binghamton, and Alexander Street Press. The collection includes conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of international women activists dating as far back as the middle nineteenth century.