Skip to main content
Find Articles in Online Indexes and Databases
The following online indexes and databases can be searched to find articles. See the RUL Listing of Labor and Employment Studies Databases for a complete list.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed for academic institutions. Although it contains less business-oriented titles than Business Source Premier (see below), it is useful when the researcher is targeting academic studies from the most important peer-reviewed journals.
America: History and Life
Covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Over 1,700 journal titles are scanned for relevant articles and book/media reviews of special interest to historians of U.S. and Canadian history and related fields.
Business Source Premier
A database that covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, and public administration. It contains the full-text (or abstracts) of articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. This database also includes profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies, reports for over two thousand industry sectors, and hundreds of country risk and economic reports.
Weekly 24-page reports on current topics, this is a good first step when researching policy issues. Each issue includes a summary of the issue, a chronology, an "At Issue" column focusing on the pros and cons of some aspect of the issue, and a three or four page bibliography for additional information.
Full-text archive of scholarly journals from various publishers in the areas of arts & sciences, business, ecology, and general science. Since this is an archival periodical database, it does not contain current issues of journals.
Produced by the International Labour Organization (ILO), Labordoc is a free bibliographic database of documents cataloged and abstracted by the ILO Library since 1965. It provides worldwide coverage of reports, studies, and journal articles on labor relations, labor law commentaries, employment, working conditions, economics, cooperatives, intermediate technology, and project evaluation.
A comprehensive source of information on leftist and radical media.
PAIS International and Archive
PAIS indexes articles, books, and reports on public policy and international affairs. Publications are from over 120 countries throughout the world.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.
Web of Science (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation Indexes)
Web of Science is an enhanced web version of Thomson/ISI's citation indexes, including the Social Sciences Citation Index. It can be used for citation and subject searching. Useful for interdisciplinary research. Citations only.
Westlaw Campus Research
Primarily useful for legal research, Westlaw can also be used to research news and business topics. Includes Hoovers Company Records and a searchable database of SEC filings.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations with abstracts of articles from more than 1,300 journals in political science, international relations, public policy and related fields.
Journals in Labor Studies and Employment Relations
European Journal of Industrial Relations
3 issues/yr. The principal English-language forum for the analysis of key developments in European industrial relations and their theoretical and practical implications.
Industrial and Labor Relations Review
ILR, Cornell University, quarterly. Research on employment, compensation, the labor force, and labor relations; peer reviewed; emphasis on quantitative research.
International Labour Review
ILO, quarterly. This journal states it "is open to articles which meet scholarly standards but which are written in a way that is accessible to a wider readership." Articles cover labor and work issues in Europe, Asian, and other foreign countries as well as the U.S.
Journal of Labor Research
quarterly. Peer-reviewed research.
Labor Law Journal
quarterly. Articles and news on labor, law, management, and the economy.
Labor Studies Journal
quarterly. The official journal of the United Association for Labor Education (UALE), multi-disciplinary coverage of work, workers, labor organizations, and worker education.
New Labor Forum
Labor Resource Center, Queens College, CUNY. Biannual. Articles, fiction, poetry, and discussion of contemporary work issues.
M.E. Sharpe. Bimonthly. Labor-oriented journal with readable articles on current, provocative issues by journalists & academics.