Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print and Online Resources
The CIA World Factbook has profiles of countries and other national entities.
Twice a year, the International Monetary Fund puts out the World Economic Outlook reports which analyze the state of the world economy and make trade and economic projections for countries and regions. (Also available in print: ALEXANDER International Documents; DANA REF HC 59. W6) The IMF also has a collection of videos on a wide variety of topics related to the world economy.
The Europa World Year Book (DANA, DOUGLASS REF JN1.E85; ALEXANDER REF D2.E823) has extensive essays on major international and regional trade communities and individual countries, as well as basic economic and trade data.
There is also International Tax Summaries: A Guide for Planning and Decisions, (DANA REF K 4505.4 .I54) which reviews taxation laws and regulations in over 90 countries, as well as Corporate Taxes: A Worldwide Summary from PriceWaterhouseCoopers (ALEX, CAMDEN STACKS; DANA, CARR REF HD 2753 .A3 C67)
Country Profiles, Risk Reports, and Innovation Indexes
Mergent Online (formerly FIS Online) is a database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies.
Organized by NAICS code, this database has detailed overviews for 1,200 industry sectors in the United States, China, and at the global level. Contains market share data, top competitors, and industry growth rates.
Doing Business (World Bank Group)
This resource provides economic and developmental insights from emerging countries.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
World Economic Forum Competitiveness Reports
The following reports contains country level competitive data based on specific metrics and economic indicators.
globalEdge Company Directories
Listings by country of country-specific directories. Most of these are directories of exporting or industrial companies and products.
INSEAD – Cornell – WIPO Global Innovation Index
This resource provides Index rankings of countries on their innovation capabilities. The index is created by Cornell University, INSEAD, and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
Business Source Premier
Use to find articles about business leaders by name. Most effective is to put last name, first name in the search box, and select People from the dropdown list to its right.