Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction and Contents
This page describes major searchable sources of data.
The lower level pages provide extensive listings of sites providing economic data at the levels of:
There are several "offline" sources of economic and financial data, including
- Datastream - international financial data including futures, options, exchange rates, etc. (available on a dedicated terminal at Carr Library)
- Bloomberg - detailed current market data (available on a dedicated terminal at Carr Library)
- WRDS - access to COMPUSTAT, CRSP and other datasets for financial research
- For specially purchased datasets, see Unique Data Resources
- Secure Data Facility
Please consult with me for information about access to these and other sources.
Searching for Data
Searchable Web Sites for Data, Software, and other Information
- Data-Planet indexes a wide range of government and private sources, with convenient ways to graph, export, and combine data.
- Global Financial Data the most complete collection of historical and current financial and economic data available in the world. Covering more than 150 different countries, it provides over 6000 different data series for download or charting.
- Historical Statistics of the United States over 37,000 data items from colonial times to 2000
- ICPSR search the world's largest archive of social science data.
- International Economic Statistics (IES) is a database from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis that provides a simplified search for worldwide economic indicators.
- International Financial Statistics (IMF) contains detailed financial and macroeconomic statistics for many countries, from 1945 to the present, updated monthly.
- iPoll (Roper Center) large compilation of US poll data.
- Polling the Nations searchable international poll results from a variety of sources.
- OECD.Stat downloadable statistics from OECD publications.
- UNdata portal to data from hundreds of sources of the United Nations and its sub-organizations
- World Bank Data Open data from the World Bank, includes complete coverage of the World Development Indicators from 1960 to the present for all countries tracked by the World Bank, Global Development Finance, Millenium Development Indicators, and more.